Community Forum

Author Topic: CPU and GPU benchmarks  (Read 76642 times)

Super_Saffer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #75 on: April 10, 2015, 05:43:02 PM »
Interesting stuff! I have a few questions:

What sort of performance could I expect from an Nvidia 970m with 6GB DDR5 Ram?

How can I test that photoscan is using the GPU?

How many CPU cores should I disable for this card? Just 1?

Should I use the Intel 4600 gpu, built into my i7?  As far as I know, it uses system RAM.

I have http://www.xoticpc.com/sager-np8278s-clevo-p170sma-p-6985.html

Thank-you!

igor73

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #76 on: April 10, 2015, 07:53:33 PM »
You can check the performance of the card in the Agisoft  console.  Its reported there once the dense cloud has finished processing.  The recommnedation is to diable 1 core per GPU.  So in your case disable 1 core.  By default one core should already be disabled.  For fast cards such as 980 and Titans the recomendation is to disable all cores as the GPU is faster than the CPU, at least that is how i have understod it. 

No idea what performance your card has.  980 is around 900 milion samples per sec i have herd so a bit less than that.  Test it and report back.   You can also disable  all cores and test the  same data set again and see if you get an iprovement. 
« Last Edit: April 10, 2015, 07:56:56 PM by igor73 »

Super_Saffer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #77 on: April 11, 2015, 06:25:17 PM »
Will do!

My laptop also has a build in Intel HD 4600 gpu.  Should I enable this as well?

Super_Saffer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #78 on: April 11, 2015, 07:15:23 PM »
You can check the performance of the card in the Agisoft  console.  Its reported there once the dense cloud has finished processing.  The recommnedation is to diable 1 core per GPU.  So in your case disable 1 core.  By default one core should already be disabled.  For fast cards such as 980 and Titans the recomendation is to disable all cores as the GPU is faster than the CPU, at least that is how i have understod it. 

No idea what performance your card has.  980 is around 900 milion samples per sec i have herd so a bit less than that.  Test it and report back.   You can also disable  all cores and test the  same data set again and see if you get an iprovement.

Also, which numbers should I be looking at? Testing now.  I already noticed that Photoscan was using the Intel4600, instead of the 970m.  Changed that in the NVIDIA control panel, and it's running off the 970m now.  I've disabled 2 cores, and am testing with 52 cameras, that are geo-referenced. Testing a high accuracy dense cloud.  I'll disable only 1 core next, and see what the difference is.

[UPDATE]  With 2 cores disabled it completes the task in 1991.04 seconds.  With 1 core disabled it completes the task in 1837.46 seconds.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2015, 08:18:05 PM by Super_Saffer »

igor73

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #79 on: April 11, 2015, 09:55:49 PM »
Try to disable all the cores and see what happens.  How many million samples per second do you get? The console will report that is you scroll up a bit. 
« Last Edit: April 11, 2015, 09:57:26 PM by igor73 »

Super_Saffer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #80 on: April 12, 2015, 12:12:17 AM »
With all cores disabled, and 53 cameras it builds a high quality dense cloud in 1722 seconds, and at 595.855 samples per second.

With 1 core disabled, and 53 cameras it builds in 2075 seconds, at 539.855 samples per second.

Does this mean that my GPU is faster than my CPU?  Should I leave all cores disabled?
« Last Edit: April 12, 2015, 01:17:50 AM by Super_Saffer »

igor73

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #81 on: April 12, 2015, 07:16:19 PM »
Yes i think you have a fast enough GPU to leave all cores disabled.  You seem to get better performance that way.   Very good result for a laptop. 
« Last Edit: April 12, 2015, 09:35:26 PM by igor73 »

Super_Saffer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #82 on: April 12, 2015, 11:06:53 PM »
Wow! The new 900m series is within comparable distance to the desktop cards.  I've been very impressed with its gaming ability so far.

Can you explain to me how the processing works?  I see that even with all cores disabled the CPU still gets used.

igor73

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #83 on: April 13, 2015, 01:33:48 PM »
Sorry , only know how to use the software but sill learning.  The developers have to answer that.  Alexey maybe can explain a bit more? 

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #84 on: April 13, 2015, 05:51:39 PM »
the CPU need to prepare data for GPU... adn it need to move it to GPU.

The M version of Nvidia is now almost at 80-90% to the desktop counterpart... seach on http://www.anandtech.com/tag/gpus
----------------
www.mhb.sk

Super_Saffer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #85 on: April 14, 2015, 03:32:37 AM »
the CPU need to prepare data for GPU... adn it need to move it to GPU.

The M version of Nvidia is now almost at 80-90% to the desktop counterpart... seach on http://www.anandtech.com/tag/gpus

Great, thanks!

Ja, I've seen how close the performance gap is getting.  Great news for us mobile workers!

mwittnebel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #86 on: October 23, 2015, 03:26:59 PM »
Dear Community ;)

I have started to crate a table for recording the results of this thread. Maybe you could create there a good overview for all Agisoft Users. (maybe you could also write down your experience in other wiki topics/pages)

http://wiki.agisoft.com/wiki/Hardware

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #87 on: October 23, 2015, 05:55:45 PM »
hi MWittenebel
here its almost al together so just look from beginning for numbers...
----------------
www.mhb.sk

nazg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: CPU and GPU benchmarks
« Reply #88 on: November 21, 2015, 08:26:49 PM »
Dear Community ;)

I have started to crate a table for recording the results of this thread. Maybe you could create there a good overview for all Agisoft Users. (maybe you could also write down your experience in other wiki topics/pages)

http://wiki.agisoft.com/wiki/Hardware

It would be even better if you said what is the meaning of the numbers, because it's not obvious that they are million samples/sec. To be honest it took me sometime to figure it out.
I will try to launch a test with our new dual k5200 setup to add a new input in the table.

Best,