Forum

Author Topic: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine  (Read 2880 times)

mkrech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« on: November 29, 2017, 11:55:29 PM »
Is there a good solution for a GPU optimized cloud based virtual workstation that would process large photo sets quickly?
Also, does the machine need to be OpenCL based or can CUDA machines work?

Thanks

TXPE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2017, 11:01:43 PM »
I've processed 11,000 photos as one chunk using MS Azure NC24 (24 vCPUs, 224 GB RAM, 4 Nvidia K80 cards).  They also have the NC24 v2 now.  They can be Windows or Linux.
https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/pricing/details/virtual-machines/windows/

GrinGEO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2017, 03:19:10 PM »
how long did it take to calculate, and how much did you pay? Where can I find the details about the GPU?

jinjamu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2017, 06:52:30 PM »
There's some info here, but a google search will find you much more :)
https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/azure-n-series-general-availability-on-december-1/
I have used the NV machines extensively.  Same performance as the NC machines, not sure the actual technical differences.  Price varies depending on the size of VM you select from around $1 to $5 per hour.
They work great to process models, but not so great if you need to edit on screen, as you'll need a really good bandwidth to have a decent user experience.
Just remember to switch off when you are done, otherwise you keep paying.
I think you can open a trial account and get $70 free usage, to try it out.

Yoann Courtois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
  • Engineer in Geodesy, Cartography and Surveying
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2017, 03:35:59 PM »
Hi everyone !

Really interesting topic !
But I have some questions about.
Firstly, how does it work for the software ? Do we need to have PhotoScan installed on the virtual machine ?

Regards
--
Yoann COURTOIS
R&D Engineer in photogrammetric process and mobile application
Lyon, FRANCE
--

TXPE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2017, 11:58:00 PM »
On MS Azure NC24

Project 1:
Agisoft v.1.3.2
8500 acres (34.5 sq km)
Photos: 10622 (Sony QX1)
Photo alignment (high; 40,000; 4,000)
-matching time: 2h 2m
-alignment time: 45m
Optimization: 4m
Depth maps: 7h 48m
Dense Cloud: 5h 17m (medium, aggresive)
Model: 3m
DEM: 48m
Ortho: 2h 59m

Project 2:
Agisoft v.1.3.2
7880 acres (31.9 sq km)
Photos: 10409 (Sony QX1)
Photo alignment (highest; 40,000; 4,000)
-matching time: 3h 54m
-alignment time: 46m
Optimization: 1m
Depth maps: 8h 10m
Dense Cloud: 5h 13m (medium, moderate)
Model: 2m
DEM: 42m
Ortho: 1h 55m

TXPE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2017, 11:59:20 PM »
Firstly, how does it work for the software ? Do we need to have PhotoScan installed on the virtual machine ?

Yes

TXPE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2017, 12:01:23 AM »
To expand on what jinjamu pointed out, simply "powering off" in Windows does not stop the clock.  You have to "Stop" the VM via the Azure portal to stop charges from being incurred.  I don't know if AWS is the same or not.

Yoann Courtois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
  • Engineer in Geodesy, Cartography and Surveying
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2017, 12:09:38 AM »
Hi TXPE !

Firstly, how does it work for the software ? Do we need to have PhotoScan installed on the virtual machine ?

Yes

Thanks for your detailed answer, and the processing time !
Is it easy to install any software on virtual machine ? I mean there is no restriction for that ?

Regards
--
Yoann COURTOIS
R&D Engineer in photogrammetric process and mobile application
Lyon, FRANCE
--

TXPE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2017, 12:43:12 AM »
I'm running on a Windows server OS.  It is like running any other Windows OS.  You will connect via Remote Desktop, VNC, TeamView, etc.  You will also have to download and install the Nvidia drivers.  You can also set up Linux VMs.
https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/pricing/details/virtual-machines/windows/

You will have to move your Photoscan license to the VM.

I think the bigger hurdle was figuring out the storage.  I think MS finally changed their website, it now reads as 1.44TB as "Temporary Storage".  This is mapped as the D: drive.  The data on the D drive can be lost.  I lost the data on the D drive when converting from an NC24 to an NC12 once.  The C: drive should be safe and is where I store the active project I'm working on.  Within Azure, you will want to set up a storage account.  I set up a "files" storage.  This is mappable.  It is basically a NAS.  I have this storage space mapped on the VM and my personal PC.  Use this storage to upload and download data.  You can do this with the VM turned off, thus saving money.  When you have all of your data/photos uploaded, then fire up the VM.

Santos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2017, 11:05:43 PM »
Hi TXPE. Thanks for sharing your experience.
I would like to know if the payment for the use of cloud based virtual machine services (per hours) requieres the extra payment for the storage of the data's proccessing. 
Also, I would like to know if necessary to pay for a base cost to be able use this service.

Best regards.

TXPE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2017, 01:42:41 AM »
For the NC24 VM, there is no minimum monthly fee.  Only pay for time used.

The storage acct does cost based on how much data you have saved.  110GB is running about $6.00 USD/month.

Santos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2017, 05:53:03 PM »
Hi. Thank for your answer.

In the case of Agisoft licensing, there is limit by the number of times that the license is moved?.

I apologies for as many questions.



TXPE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2017, 06:08:52 PM »
Good question.  Would have to ask Agisoft.

Alain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan Pro on cloud based virtual machine
« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2018, 11:47:46 AM »
The Free Account of Azur has a limitation of 4vCPU's per machine.
From my point of view the Free Account is useless to test high performance computations.
You have to upgrade to a "Normal" Account, but you cannot test for free.

Kind regards
Alain