Forum

Author Topic: Agisoft & DJI Phantom 4 Pro: camera calibration or EXIF problem?  (Read 14438 times)

ciara123

• View Profile
Hi there,

I am new to photogrammetry and Agisoft. I have been capturing planform images using the DJI P4P drone and using Agisoft to create a DEM of the surveyed area. This all works ok using a typical workflow when images are captured on the same day. Due to time or battery constraints, sometimes I had to finish a survey on an alternative day. Combining the two sets of images in Agisoft is proving problematic, with one set of images appearing on an elevated plane in comparison to the other set of images after the alignment step. I have GCPs in some of the area for referencing but this is not solving this initial problem.

Issue 1: DJI P4P altitude is different for the two sets of images, generally ~30m difference in the same area.
Troubleshoot: strip the altitude data (EXIF) using a photo editor like Geosetter. Either set to 0m or use elevations taken from Google maps.

This has worked in some cases, but not in others and I'm beginning to wonder is it a calibration issue? Rather than simply a problem with the drone altitude data?

In another case, the 'camera calibration' in Agisoft shows 2 different calibrations for each date the two sets of images were taken. I think I have the DJI camera set to default settings. The two calibrations show different resolutions (5472 x 3648, 5472 x 3078), but the same camera model and focal lengths. The initial value for 'f' is 3648 and 3482.57 and the adjusted values are different for both sets of images.

Could anyone please advise what sort of avenue I should be looking at to troubleshoot this problem?

Kind regards,
Ciara

SAV

• View Profile
Re: Agisoft & DJI Phantom 4 Pro: camera calibration or EXIF problem?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2018, 09:09:35 AM »
Hi ciara123,

First of all, welcome to the PhotoScan / digital photogrammetry community  :D