Forum

Author Topic: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release  (Read 81831 times)

Dmitry Semyonov

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« on: January 30, 2013, 12:56:28 PM »
Pre-release version of Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 is available for download.

This pre-release is considered as unstable and is not recommended for production use.

Please use the links below for download:

Agisoft PhotoScan Standard edition
Windows 64 bit
Windows 32 bit
Mac OS X
Linux 64 bit

Agisoft PhotoScan Professional edition
Windows 64 bit
Windows 32 bit
Mac OS X
Linux 64 bit

PhotoScan Professional 0.9.1 User Manual
PhotoScan 0.9.1 Change Log
PhotoScan 0.9.1 Python API

Please let us know if you have any problems using this version.

Please post problems and/or questions concerning other PhotoScan version in separate topics.

This topic will be removed when the final 0.9.1 version is released.

Note
Project files created with 0.9.1 version can't be opened with earlier versions.

EDIT:
PhotoScan 0.9.1 build 1703 was finally released. Thank you for useful feedback.

Please use the links on the main PhotoScan pages for download:
Agisoft PhotoScan Standard edition
Agisoft PhotoScan Professional edition
« Last Edit: June 24, 2013, 01:36:53 PM by Dmitry Semyonov »
With best regards,
Dmitry Semyonov
Agisoft

RalfH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2013, 01:33:18 PM »
Hello Alexey,

I looked at the change log and didn't see anything about depth maps. Does 0.9.1 solve the depth map problem for projects in which camera positions are within view of other cameras (http://www.agisoft.ru/forum/index.php?topic=971.0)?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9261
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2013, 01:54:00 PM »
Hello RalfH,

There are no changes for skipping pairs during depth maps calculation. Unfortunately, this task is not on top of our "to do list", since such camera configuration is not usually used and in most cases is not optimal.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
AgiSoft LLC

RalfH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2013, 02:04:35 PM »
Hello Alexey,

I know that this is not an optimal camera configuration, but in some cases it is the simplest (and sometimes the only) way to work (i.e. when access is restricted or when there is very little time). In the case of one of my projects, walking on the surface was leaving footprints, so I could only walk across the feature once and take pictures in the direction in which I was walking. I think it would be good to make PhotoScan even more flexible for "unusual" configurations.

FoodMan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 477
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2013, 02:53:56 PM »
hello Alexey..

If I can ask... what exactly do you mean by

Added full utilization of HDR depth

thank you
f/

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9261
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2013, 02:55:38 PM »
Hello Foodman,

This means that no conversions to 8-bit per channel are performed during any processing step.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
AgiSoft LLC

FoodMan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 477
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2013, 03:16:15 PM »
very cool.... do I guess right to say that  Pscan is now using all the extra information from 32 bits images...    8) 8)

f/

gEEvEE

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2013, 06:57:33 PM »
Why does the above link not point to the 0.9.1 log file but only the Version 0.9.0 build? Where could I check the latest improvements?
CU,

Geert

RalfH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2013, 07:18:10 PM »
This pre-release is considered as unstable and is not recommended for production use.

[...]

Note
Project files created with 0.9.1 version can't be opened with earlier versions.

This means that it is very difficult to test 0.9.1 and also keep working with 0.9.0 without having to repeatedly uninstall/install the two different versions.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2013, 07:21:07 PM by RalfH »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9261
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2013, 08:00:24 PM »
Hello Geert,

Please update browser window if checking pdf online.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
AgiSoft LLC

kris3d

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2013, 09:47:19 PM »
We calculate the time depth is about 30-40 percent better.
470 product images are calculated in 1h.40 min.
instead of 3 hours. !
revelation :)

Jan Wesbuer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2013, 12:53:47 AM »
The improvements in the new release and arbitary/mosaic mode are incredible :D

Great job Agisoft!
 ;D
i use PS Pro, C4D and ZBrush on OS X

Porly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2013, 01:45:17 AM »
Hello 2 all,

also unbelievable improvements in building geometry.


70 pictures on "HIGH" before: 4845s   now:2890s

GPU: 7970 ghz edition

Well done, congratulations!

Best regards

EDIT: second attachment results with 9 pictures on Ultra
« Last Edit: January 31, 2013, 02:06:34 AM by Porly »

FoodMan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 477
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2013, 11:53:42 AM »
The texturing is sooo improved... amazing !!!!! Great great Job Guys !! 8) 8) 8) 8)

f/

Porly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.1 pre-release
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2013, 01:45:35 PM »
hello,

one thing I have to mention is the optimizing step. Only to check I optimized an old project with the new version of photoscan. I didnt change anything in the settings and wanted to compare the results.
Scales were not used, K4 disortion  disabled. For optimizing were used only GCP with an accuracy of +-2cm (marker accuracy set to 0 in settings). With the version 0.9.0 there are no probnlems. After
two optimizing steps (and gradual selection) the pointcloud had already a good quality (error under 10cm). With the pre-release version there were no way to fit the pointcloud under 20 cm, even after lot of more optimizing steps. Please note that the settings were the same. What I noticed was, that the optimizing step in pre-release works with less number of iteration?? That is what I saw in the "console". The weights are not growing after each iteration. Maybe it happens in the backround now. I dont know.


After this I tried to handle the problem with the new scale bars and the K4 fit, but there was no improvement to get the bundle adjustment under 20 cm. In fact in my opinion scale bars wouldnt improve the result when using GCP. Because the information about the distance between the GCP already exists in the coordinates.

Any idea how to fix this? Is it a known problem??

Thanks a lot!
« Last Edit: January 31, 2013, 02:06:05 PM by Porly »