Agisoft Metashape

Agisoft Metashape => General => Topic started by: Dieter on July 28, 2020, 10:23:10 AM

Title: Photoassignment Orthophoto is bad
Post by: Dieter on July 28, 2020, 10:23:10 AM
I would ask you to check the image assignment for the orthophotos again.

The optimal photo of the surface is not assigned, as can easily be seen from the attached example. Example 1 is the automatic Ortophoto, example 2 the post-processed version.

In this example, all photos had to be exchanged to get an acceptable surface.

I have often pointed out this problem without any change on the part of agisoft. I like to work with Agisoft a lot, but I have to exchange hundreds of photos for every project, which in the long run becomes too much for me and is unproductive for our office.

I am happy to help and offer my support.

Dieter
Title: Re: Photoassignment Orthophoto is bad
Post by: Dieter on July 28, 2020, 01:59:53 PM
I may have found the solution.

The previous examples are cylindrical developments.

It looks like in this case the software determines the ranks of the images in exactly the opposite way.

I noticed this when I exchanged the pictures, Rank 1 means good for normal orthophotos, for my cylindrical developments it means bad.

That means the worst pictures are used for the orthophoto, very bad.

Dear Agisoft team, please check this !!


Dieter
Title: Re: Photoassignment Orthophoto is bad
Post by: Dieter on August 08, 2020, 05:27:24 PM
 :'(
Title: Re: Photoassignment Orthophoto is bad
Post by: jnb on September 14, 2020, 08:41:54 PM
Hello,

I second this, and not only for cylindrical projection bur for planar too.
As soon as I deal with a little bit complex orthomosaic the image assignment is awful, especially when multiple plans at different depths are involved.
It would be nice if we could manually select a metric threshold under witch images are not used during the process.
Here is an exemple before and after manual assignment. The part on the left is at a greater distance than the part on the right and as you can see the automatic orthomosaic uses the same images for both.