Agisoft Metashape

Agisoft Metashape => General => Topic started by: Alexey Pasumansky on July 27, 2011, 07:46:38 PM

Title: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on July 27, 2011, 07:46:38 PM
Pre-release version of Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 is available for download.

This pre-release is considered as unstable and is not recommended for production use.

Please let us know if you have any problems using this version.

Please post problems and/or questions concerning other PhotoScan version in separate topics.

This topic will be removed when the final 0.8.3 version is released.

EDIT:
Updated to 0.8.3 build 1154

EDIT:
Updated to 0.8.3 build 1214

EDIT:
PhotoScan 0.8.3 build 1224 was finally released. Thank you for useful feedback.

Please use the links on the main PhotoScan pages for download:
Agisoft PhotoScan Standard edition (http://www.agisoft.ru/products/photoscan/standard/download)
Agisoft PhotoScan Professional edition (http://www.agisoft.ru/products/photoscan/professional/download)
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: IanJohnson on July 29, 2011, 05:58:49 AM
Is there a change log for this pre-release?

I've seen the progress screen in the batch window, and appreciate the addition.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Diego on July 29, 2011, 01:59:14 PM
Change Log?

Regards,

Diego
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 01, 2011, 06:23:27 PM
Hello,

We have updated Change Log (http://downloads.agisoft.ru/photoscan/doc/en/changelog.pdf).
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: wj on August 05, 2011, 05:03:49 PM
This version of the texture mapping function more slowly than the 877 version (Generic? :(
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 05, 2011, 05:09:12 PM
Hello wj,

The speed of texture reconstruction should be the same.  Do you experience real difference?
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: wj on August 08, 2011, 03:31:19 PM
yes,I did the experiment, using the same photo, the speed is very slow (36 photos need 3 hours textrue)

but 877 need 10 minutes
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 08, 2011, 03:52:39 PM
Hello wj,

Could you please check texture reconstruction in 0.8.3 is using the same parameters as in build 877.
If you were using "Orthophoto" in 877 please check it is the same in 0.8.3 because PhotoScan sets mapping mode to "Generic" by default.
"Orthophoto" is much faster then "Generic" especially on meshes with millions of faces.


Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: wj on August 08, 2011, 04:45:17 PM
I will check later, and another question, how to make the texture more sharpness, brightness uniformity? Which way should I use?
I currently use the way: maping mode--- gneneric              blending mode--- Max intensity
 
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 08, 2011, 04:58:38 PM
Hello wj,

You can try "Mosaic" blending mode but for the "Generic" parametrization there could be visible seams on the objects surface.

And concerning your previous question, if you have project built in 0.8.1.877 to compare with you can find parameters used by right-clicking on chunk in Workspace pane and selection "Show info".
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: wj on August 09, 2011, 12:45:33 PM
This version--- Quality of Merged Chunks still not good, low quality, detail is lost.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: wj on August 10, 2011, 01:10:51 PM
(http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6062/6028813620_d35ac6039f.jpg)
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 10, 2011, 01:46:33 PM
Hello wj,

Are you using "Generic" mapping mode in the case, shown on screenshot? How long did it take to pass "Parametrization" stage? And what are atlas parameters?

Building texture stage consists of two steps - parametrization and blending. If you have different processing time on this stage - then it is likely you've used different mapping mode in the old version.

Texture blending is done quite fast unless entered atlas parameters are too big for RAM and uses swap. If the parametrization stage is done fast in your case please try to decrease texture atlas width and height (in Task Monitor you can watch the memory usage).
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: wj on August 10, 2011, 02:47:45 PM
(http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6122/6028419449_461bc48b19.jpg)
(http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6208/6028972978_570c879796.jpg)
(http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6084/6028972930_7c583f87a8.jpg)
(http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6062/6028813620_d35ac6039f.jpg)
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 10, 2011, 02:53:13 PM
Hello wj,

Could you please try to set texture atlas 20000x20000 and check if blending stage quickens.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: wj on August 10, 2011, 02:58:59 PM
Hi,Alexey 
OK? I'm trying to 15000 ? 15000 new,:) please wait...:),
Another problem. Quality of Merged Chunks what time can improve? The next version?
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 10, 2011, 03:04:39 PM
Quote
Quality of Merged Chunks what time can improve? The next version?
We are working on this improvement, but it will take quite a time to implement. So it is not likely to be in the next update.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: wj on August 10, 2011, 03:17:36 PM
Hi,I tested the 15000 ? 15000, only 12 minutes the whole process, I  test 20000 ? 20000now
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: wj on August 10, 2011, 05:37:19 PM
20000*20000----16min
22000*22000----20min
23000*23000----3600min...
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Wishgranter on August 11, 2011, 11:58:29 AM
the RAM is propably the problem of long time vith 23k........
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: olihar on August 11, 2011, 08:35:34 PM
I can not open projects made with this version Build 1096 with Photoscan Build 985.

If the project has not been textured, I can see the model, but there is no info and its like I have to run the project again.

(https://img.skitch.com/20110811-ndjefg1u58tbfjbkj5qgugnjre.jpg)
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Diego on August 11, 2011, 11:50:36 PM
You're right

"This pre-release is considered as unstable and is not recommended for production use."
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: olihar on August 12, 2011, 12:25:58 AM
You're right

"This pre-release is considered as unstable and is not recommended for production use."

Worth knowing for people, and there might be an easy fix.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Jan Wesbuer on August 12, 2011, 02:22:24 AM
I can not open projects made with this version Build 1096 with Photoscan Build 985.

If the project has not been textured, I can see the model, but there is no info and its like I have to run the project again.

(https://img.skitch.com/20110811-ndjefg1u58tbfjbkj5qgugnjre.jpg)

btw. most recent prerelease build is 1132
just wanted to throw this in because it is only mentioned in the changelog and many might have missed that.

best regards
Jan
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: olihar on August 12, 2011, 11:57:27 AM
I can not open projects made with this version Build 1096 with Photoscan Build 985.

If the project has not been textured, I can see the model, but there is no info and its like I have to run the project again.

(https://img.skitch.com/20110811-ndjefg1u58tbfjbkj5qgugnjre.jpg)

btw. most recent prerelease build is 1132
just wanted to throw this in because it is only mentioned in the changelog and many might have missed that.

best regards
Jan

Problem is still in this version as well.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 12, 2011, 12:55:13 PM
Hello olihar,

Projects saved in 0.8.3 could not be opened in the previous builds but 0.8.3 opens projects from 0.8.2 for example.

Is there a reason why do you want to open new project in the previous build?
Also we are planning to update 0.8.3 in a few days.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: olihar on August 12, 2011, 04:00:26 PM
Reason was I wanted to check if I was getting the same errors in Ground Control in the older versions. But then I ran a test in the older versions and got the same problem, I then posted it in the bug forum about the Datum.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: JanS on August 13, 2011, 02:54:27 PM
Python support is greatly appreciated. It allowed us to programmatically add/remove photos and to copy transformation matrices between chunks. Combined with matrix multiplication, this gives a good programmatic control of alignment.

Some comments and requests:
- all operations on individual photos are rather slow (add/remove/select, en/disable), certainly for larger chunks (1000+ photos). It would help if we could provide a list of photos to each function e.g. doc.chunk(1).removePhotos(myList)

- camera control: get/set view X,Y,Z and view directions. Can be powerful combined with export in local coordinates since it gives fine control over the view. Alternatively an option to view and set the view from the GUI would be cool as well. Maybe on the status bar?

Keep on the good work,


Jan
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 15, 2011, 01:28:14 PM
Hello Jan,

Operations with photos are slow because GUI is updated after every operation with photo. Performing scripts from the command line should remove this slowness.
We are considering the implementation of GUI block function that also could solve the problem if scripts are run from GUI. Also Python functionality would be extended by time and I think it will include setting the camera view direction and position.

Title: Can't allocate stereo buffers
Post by: Diego on August 15, 2011, 04:40:10 PM
Hi Alexey,

All versions 0.8.3 have problems in OpenCL:

Loading photos...
Reconstructing depth...
Using device: GeForce GTX 580, 16 compute units, 24057 MB global memory
  max work group size 1024
  max work item sizes [1024, 1024, 64]
  max mem alloc size 6014 MB
  max workgroup size c1: 1024 c3: 1024 zero: 1024 hamming: 1024 filter: 1024 box: 1024
  max workgroup size zero: 1024 costs: 1024 b1: 1024 bn: 1024 wta: 1024 transpose: 1024
estimating 5728x6457x2048 disparity using 261x259x2048 tiles, offset -8
Can't allocate stereo buffers
GPU processing failed, switching to CPU mode


With version 0.8.2 works fine

Regards,

Diego
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 15, 2011, 04:59:25 PM
Hello Diego,

This message doesn't mean there is a problem, just was unable to allocate enough resources on GPU for current element and it is processed on CPU.
You can ignore these messages if there are only few of them.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Diego on August 15, 2011, 05:04:19 PM
Hello Alexey,

If it is a big problem because the CPU is very slow. And with the version 0.8.2 does not happen. Clearly a problem in the new version.

0.8.2 processing time = 62 min. (GPU Only)

0.8.3 processing time = 378 min. (GPU Fault)

Regards,

Diego
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on August 16, 2011, 11:59:12 AM
Hello Diego,

Thanks you for reporting. Fix will be implemented in the next update.
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: JanS on August 17, 2011, 12:37:42 AM
Hello Jan,

Operations with photos are slow because GUI is updated after every operation with photo. Performing scripts from the command line should remove this slowness.
We are considering the implementation of GUI block function that also could solve the problem if scripts are run from GUI. Also Python functionality would be extended by time and I think it will include setting the camera view direction and position.

Hi Alexey. That's exactly what I was hoping for. Greetings, Jan
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Jan Wesbuer on September 12, 2011, 12:02:21 AM
Hi Agisoft,

thanks for the new feature you added to the latest pre-release build 1212 today, especially for:
"Added an option to configure the number of decimal places used for model/point cloud export."
That will help me a lot!

Regards
Jan
Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Dino on September 13, 2011, 01:48:01 PM
I'm just playing with new version but I cannot find new option ''to display photo locations based on ground control in 3D view before alignment to assist in selection of "good" photos'' I think it would be very useful but cannot find where it is?!

Title: Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.8.3 pre-release
Post by: Alexey Pasumansky on September 13, 2011, 02:14:48 PM
Hello Dino,

This option is automatic and shows the positions for all cameras that have ground control data input.
If the camera is aligned it is shown like in previous versions, if it is not aligned it is shown like a sphere placed in the space based on its coordinates: