Agisoft Metashape

Agisoft Metashape => General => Topic started by: Wishgranter on February 12, 2014, 12:23:18 PM

Title: the RAM problematic stuff
Post by: Wishgranter on February 12, 2014, 12:23:18 PM
Hi All.....

read this article http://www.anandtech.com/show/7742/im-intelligent-memory-to-release-16gb-unregistered-ddr3-modules

this mean we would not be so dependent in near future on the RAM capacity on single CPU setups, but as you read Intel has not implemented the DDR3 carefully, but with new CPUs and 8 memory slots it would be possible to use 128 GB ram and eventually 256 GB ( 32 GB Modules ) yes for now its a very pricey solution, but at it start to be build in larger volumes, then the price will drop significantly... its working on AMD CPUs without problems........ 
Title: Re: the RAM problematic stuff
Post by: JRM on February 12, 2014, 07:29:15 PM
I would prefer a more efficient (http://www.agisoft.ru/forum/index.php?topic=1239.msg6265#msg6265) use of memory instead of adding more RAM capacity, having the certainty of never running out of memory whatever the amount of memory actually available would be great.
Title: Re: the RAM problematic stuff
Post by: Marcel on February 18, 2014, 01:00:42 PM
but as you read Intel has not implemented the DDR3 carefully, but with new CPUs and 8 memory slots it would be possible to use 128 GB ram and eventually 256 GB ( 32 GB Modules ) yes for now

Using 128GB on a single Xeon CPU is already possible with a motherboard like this:

http://www.supermicro.com/products/motherboard/Xeon/C600/X9SRi-F.cfm

The nice thing is that the single CPU Xeons are much more affordable than the Dual Xeons, so you can get a 4 core Xeon with a much higher clock speed for less money (great for meshing, since this part is not multi-threaded so well anyway).

More than 128GB of memory should also be possible, but the 32GB modules are not such a good deal ;)




Title: Re: the RAM problematic stuff
Post by: Wishgranter on April 07, 2014, 11:05:51 PM
Another intreresting RAM stuff, it wil take some time but  thne it wil be possible to have 512 GB ram in PC with single CPU.

http://www.techpowerup.com/199648/sk-hynix-developed-the-worlds-first-highest-density-128-gb-ddr4-module.html