Forum

Author Topic: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH  (Read 4628 times)

montarob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« on: December 14, 2018, 03:35:57 PM »
Dear All;
I got a very annoyed problem with photoscan pro.
Basically, when I'm processing the dense cloud I get this kind of error:
" CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH_FAILLED_(700) at line 115".
I really don't know what it means! Could you help me please ti fix that problem?
Thank you

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14965
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2018, 03:39:12 PM »
Hello montarob,

Can you please attach the complete log related to the failed operation, so that it include the starting log lines that are usually shown when the application is just started and complete output related to the dense cloud generation procedure?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

montarob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2018, 10:42:51 AM »
Dear Alexey,
thank you for your help.
I'am trying to describe better my problem.
I'an using Photoscan 1.3.5. Builod 5649 64 bit (trial) . That problem comes out only if I use the graphic card activating it from the menu "preferences".
My graphic card is a GeForce RTX 2080 (46 cores @ 1710 Mhz, 8192 mb) CUDA.
Basically, after allignement, when I process the dense cloud,  my screen became black and I get this error : " Launc Failure (4) at line 220.
I tried to download even the most recent version of Photoscan but I have the same problem.
Please help me!!! :'(

montarob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2018, 10:55:41 AM »
in attached...part of the report log:
2018-12-17 07:25:54 Agisoft PhotoScan Professional Version: 1.3.5 build 5649 (64 bit)
2018-12-17 07:25:54 Platform: Windows
2018-12-17 07:25:55 OpenGL Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
2018-12-17 07:25:55 OpenGL Renderer: GeForce RTX 2080/PCIe/SSE2
2018-12-17 07:25:55 OpenGL Version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 416.94
2018-12-17 07:25:55 Maximum Texture Size: 32768
2018-12-17 07:25:55 Quad Buffered Stereo: not enabled
2018-12-17 07:25:55 ARB_vertex_buffer_object: supported
2018-12-17 07:25:55 ARB_texture_non_power_of_two: supported
2018-12-17 07:25:55 Using simple console. Rich console can be enabled in Preferences dialog.
2018-12-17 07:26:16 Loading photos...
2018-12-17 07:26:16 Finished processing in 0.136 sec (exit code 1)
2018-12-17 07:26:31 AlignPhotos: accuracy = Medium, preselection = generic, keypoint limit = 40000, tiepoint limit = 4000, constrain features by mask = 0, adaptive fitting = 1

IN THE LAST PART...
2018-12-17 07:32:57 Warning: cudaStreamDestroy failed: all CUDA-capable devices are busy or unavailable (46)
2018-12-17 07:32:58 Warning: cudaStreamDestroy failed: all CUDA-capable devices are busy or unavailable (46)
2018-12-17 07:32:58 Finished processing in 97.806 sec (exit code 0)
2018-12-17 07:32:58 Error: unspecified launch failure (4) at line 220

Mak11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2018, 11:18:22 AM »
Why are you using a nearly 2 years old trial version of Photoscan instead of the latest one? Especially with a GPU that was just released less that 3 months ago. Several updates to the Cuda support have been made since version 1.3.5.

Try 1.4.4 (or even 1.5.0 Beta). If it works then you'll know where the problem comes from (and always run the latest version of Nvidia's drivers)

Cheers

Mak

montarob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2018, 11:42:15 AM »
i GOT THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE LATEST TRIAL VERSION...FOR THIS REASON I TRIED TO DOWNLOAD THE PREVIOUS ONE. Thanks anyway, I'll trey with the 1.5.0

Mak11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2018, 11:49:38 AM »
What are your GPU driver versions are Windows OS Version ?

Did you have a Nvidia GPU installed the same system before installing the RTX 2080? If so it's recommended to totally wiped the previous drivers version and re-installed the new ones from scratch after swapping the GPUs.

Mak
« Last Edit: December 17, 2018, 11:54:31 AM by Mak11 »

montarob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2018, 12:14:15 PM »
My driver are 25.21.14.1694
I can not know if there was a  a Nvidia GPU installed the same system before installing the RTX 2080 because it is a company's computer.
Anyway I updated the NVIDIA driver and tried to repeat the processing but I get the same identic problem.

montarob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2018, 12:15:52 PM »
Where can I download the beta version 1.5.0?

Mak11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2018, 12:28:37 PM »
I would highly recommend wiping your current drivers with: https://www.guru3d.com/files_details/display_driver_uninstaller_download.html
Then installing the latest one from here: https://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

Which version of Windows are you running ? 7, 8 or 10 ?

Mak

montarob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2018, 12:33:34 PM »
Windows 10

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14965
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2018, 01:08:22 PM »
Hello montarob,

Please try to install latest NVIDIA drivers using Clean Install option and check, if after the reboot the processing with the same parameters works.

If not, then please try to set the following Tweak via Advanced tab to False value in pre-release version of Metashape 1.5.0:
main/gpu_enable_cuda
Then re-start the application and try the same processing workflow again.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

montarob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2018, 04:26:07 PM »
Dear All,
as you suggested, I made a clean driver install for the latest NVIDIA driver downloaded directly from the official web-site (417.35 version).
I reboot the processing with the same parameters but nothing changed. So I tryied setting False in Preferences - advanced - Tweaks and I re-started to process but I got the same problem.

I didn't understand what you mean with: "Tweak via Advanced tab to False value in pre-release version of Metashape 1.5.0:
main/gpu_enable_cuda"

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14965
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2018, 04:59:40 PM »
Hello monrarob,

I suggest to install version 1.5.0 pre-release:
http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=9793.0

Then go to Tools Menu -> Preferences dialog -> Advanced tab -> Tweaks button and there create the parameter like in the screenshot below.

After that restart the application and try the same processing. If there is still any processing issue, then please send the copy of the new log.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2018, 05:17:32 PM by Alexey Pasumansky »
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

montarob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH
« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2018, 06:47:48 PM »
Dear Alexey,
I have set up following your instructions, so I downloaded the new version 1.5.0 and I have created the new parameter " main/gpu_enable_cuda". In this way it works evene if it spend too much time...Basically I spent almost 2 h just to process the dense cloud of 94 photos (high risolution). So probably something is wrong.
In fact, I'm working with a good computer (64 gb ram).
What do you think about?