Forum

Author Topic: Human skull: Cannot create dense point cloud  (Read 2407 times)

CarlosVenator

• View Profile
Human skull: Cannot create dense point cloud
« on: March 08, 2019, 11:25:35 PM »
Hello.

I'm very new to 3D and this is the first time I try to scan an object. I've tried several times in different ways to create the dense point cloud but it wasn't possible. One time I tried and I waited 27 hours, so last time I've converted the images to JPEG and reduced the size of the photos to approximately 1400x900 pixels. I've taken photos from 5 different angles. The first steps seem to work fine, even the sparse point cloud looks good and without gaps, until I create the dense point cloud: The photos appear on the inside of the 3D model and as you can see in the photos, it has many incomplete areas.

I'd really appreciate any help. Thank you in advance.

Alexey Pasumansky

• Agisoft Technical Support
    • View Profile
Re: Human skull: Cannot create dense point cloud
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2019, 03:12:41 PM »
Hello CarlosVenator,

Can you please send the project saved in PSZ format with only alignment results (no need of the dense cloud) to support@agisoft.com? If you have the project with the alignment that is based on the source images and not on the lossy compressed low resolution JPGs, it would be better.

In case too many tie points have been removed from the sparse cloud, Metashape wouldn't be able to use all the overlapping image pairs for the depth maps and dense cloud generation, as the number of common tie points for some image pairs would be below the threshold.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

CarlosVenator

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2019, 07:53:12 PM »
Thank you for your help. I will try to align the photos again but this time using the source format as you suggested. However, when I aligned the images in JPEG format and reduced to 25% (1400x900 pixels) it took many hours to complete.