Forum

Author Topic: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!  (Read 6661 times)

tymal77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« on: March 20, 2019, 01:46:27 PM »
Hi. Sometimes I use 1000 of photos and when I see the sparse cloud I know that my model will look great and I do not need so many photos. I would probably do with 500 and it would decrese the time needed for processing.

So in that case instead of manually disabling every second photo, I would love to have a button that will open a window and let me select every second (third/forth/fifth.. etc.) photo for me, so I can disable them quickly. This would be very helpful for projects where I start with over 4000 photographs. https://scrabblewordfinder.vip/ https://www.applock.ooo/ https://www.7zip.vip/
« Last Edit: March 20, 2019, 10:18:37 PM by tymal77 »

James

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2019, 04:05:42 PM »
You can do something like this in Pro using the plan motion/optimise coverage feature https://www.agisoft.com/index.php?id=70

And in both versions you can always resize the photos pane and select a single column of images by click dragging to select every 2nd/3rd/4th etc depending on how wide you made the panel, and disable/remove them with a single click on the appropriate button or context menu item.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14103
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 12:24:07 PM »
In the newly release Metashape Pro 1.5.2 Reduce Overlap command is now available from the Tools Menu.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

tuffi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2019, 10:49:26 AM »
Is possible delete the disabled images with the reduce overlap tools without check one by one in case of big dataset?

eddison

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2019, 04:10:41 PM »
Hi, in the Tools menu, Reduce Overlap, when you open that command, it says Image Overlap Low, medium and high, what are the values ​​of overlap for each of them? I appreciate the explanation.
 
Thank you
 
Eddison

jinjamu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2019, 03:57:19 PM »
Is possible delete the disabled images with the reduce overlap tools without check one by one in case of big dataset?

This is a question I have also
Thanks!

eddison

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2019, 04:29:22 PM »
That part is confusing, it does not indicate what value is a Low, Medium or High Overlap!

Eddison

Steve003

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2021, 10:08:16 PM »
This needs Alexey or a team member to explain better, I also have I see some almost same 'show camers positions', and as they are all aimed at the same object, a wheel, one of the two could go, preferably the inferior one of the two., regards focus. if however they are aiming at very different parts of the object then they dont need to be dealt with.

Alexey could you explain better how it works please.

I had hoped I could select one of the two camera positions thumbs and see the big thumbnail down below light up, launch to max and assess both and delete one from the photoset, then align again.
One can select the big thumbnail and see the location go pink edged, but thats a game of hit and miss until the offender is found.

I wish that click and show worked in both directions, that would make sense, and certainly click camera position and see the photo selected would be brilliant.

Steve

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14103
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2021, 12:23:07 AM »
Hello Steve,

You can select multiple cameras in Model view (using selection tools), then right-click in the Model view and choose Filter Photos by Cameras option in order to leave only selected cameras in Photos pane.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Steve003

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2021, 04:43:30 PM »
Hi,
I am thinking that its best to remove unnecessary photos before processing else the processing will take a lot longer, always process what images are best and not more than necessary, not bad ones, or overlappers,
It may even be some pics will cause issues, maybe they contain sun and shadows, or rainspots etc, though one should have ignored these in the initial selection of the set to use.
If we have to go all the way and create a model mesh BEFORE overlappers can be removed, I am not seeing that as wise and efficient.
Is it not possible to have it that we can select the unwanted images, the overlappers, in sparse cloud window having a good set before starting all the processing ?
I say this as I cannot get them to select with the arrow tool in sparse cloud perspective view, is that how it is or have I a fault, metashape 1.7.4 ?

Steve
« Last Edit: October 15, 2021, 04:45:17 PM by Steve003 »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14103
    • View Profile
Re: Reduce the number of photos (both Standard and Pro)!!!!
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2021, 05:25:39 PM »
Hello Steve,

As I have said before, you can generate a rough model from the sparse cloud, which would take about a minute of calculations. Then use this model for the Reduce Overlap feature. Unfortunately, Metashape currently doesn't allow to identify excessive or unsuitable imagery automatically before any processing is started.

The selection of the cameras in the Model view should be performed with the selection tools (like Free-form selection, for example).

Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC