Forum

Author Topic: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release  (Read 166511 times)

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14890
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #165 on: January 06, 2020, 09:16:15 PM »
however i have a problem concerning textured models as you can see on the picture not all the textures are displayed, why (unchecking VBO support is solving the issue) ? (last update, latest drivers 40000Mb vram allocated)

Hello Iluvathar,

Can you please specify the GPU model and OS version that you are using? Additionally the texture atlas size, number of pages and bit depth.

Also please confirm that you are using 40 000 Mb of VRAM.


Hello Alexey

The GPU model is a quadro RTX 8000, I use to build 16384 textures in one atlas, i also 8192x2, 4 bands, uint8,
The OS is windows 10
i also worked on an other computer, with a gtx1080, same issue with 16384 or 8192 VBO enabled,
note : when vbo is disabled the textures are coming back to normal
note 2 : when the model has lower complexity textures are displaying just fine with vbo enabled (less than 10-20mio poly and 16384 resolution textures)

Hello Iluvathar,

Thank you for providing the additional information.

The issue may be related to the unstable driver work with high VBO values. For 70 M poly model 10 GB will be sufficient for textured view display mode, so I can suggest to reduce the amount of dedicated VRAM for VBO option and try to re-open the model. If the textured view is already on, please switch to point cloud and back to textured and see, if it helps.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Iluvathar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #166 on: January 07, 2020, 01:15:19 PM »
however i have a problem concerning textured models as you can see on the picture not all the textures are displayed, why (unchecking VBO support is solving the issue) ? (last update, latest drivers 40000Mb vram allocated)

Hello Iluvathar,

Can you please specify the GPU model and OS version that you are using? Additionally the texture atlas size, number of pages and bit depth.

Also please confirm that you are using 40 000 Mb of VRAM.


Hello Alexey

The GPU model is a quadro RTX 8000, I use to build 16384 textures in one atlas, i also 8192x2, 4 bands, uint8,
The OS is windows 10
i also worked on an other computer, with a gtx1080, same issue with 16384 or 8192 VBO enabled,
note : when vbo is disabled the textures are coming back to normal
note 2 : when the model has lower complexity textures are displaying just fine with vbo enabled (less than 10-20mio poly and 16384 resolution textures)

Hello Iluvathar,

Thank you for providing the additional information.

The issue may be related to the unstable driver work with high VBO values. For 70 M poly model 10 GB will be sufficient for textured view display mode, so I can suggest to reduce the amount of dedicated VRAM for VBO option and try to re-open the model. If the textured view is already on, please switch to point cloud and back to textured and see, if it helps.

Hello Alexey,

It seems that reducing the amount of VRAM doesn't change anything because it uses only the vram it needs to display the model, if i choose to allow the software to use 48000mb of vram, not all the memory is used to display just one model (it's quite fantastic to be able to show all the aligned chunks smotthly and it uses massively vram depending on the number of models (achaeologics levels sometime 10 models, up to 70-80 mio poly at the same time, severals models with 10-20 millions poly textured without any issues with vbo enabled)
i believe it's as you sayed, due to the unstable driver :/

Kjellis85

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Archaeological field supervisor
    • View Profile
    • Contact information at University of Tromsø
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #167 on: January 09, 2020, 12:31:43 PM »
Build normal map texture option is missing. I have made diffuse and occlusion map, should i not be able to do a normal map then?

Running 1.6.0.9925

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14890
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #168 on: January 09, 2020, 01:19:36 PM »
It seems that reducing the amount of VRAM doesn't change anything because it uses only the vram it needs to display the model, if i choose to allow the software to use 48000mb of vram, not all the memory is used to display just one model (it's quite fantastic to be able to show all the aligned chunks smotthly and it uses massively vram depending on the number of models (achaeologics levels sometime 10 models, up to 70-80 mio poly at the same time, severals models with 10-20 millions poly textured without any issues with vbo enabled)
i believe it's as you sayed, due to the unstable driver :/
Hello Iluvathar,

We will try to optimize the textured view mode for the next version update in order to handle higher polygonal models better providing that sufficient VBO RAM limit is defined.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Iluvathar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #169 on: January 09, 2020, 01:30:35 PM »

[/quote]
Hello Iluvathar,

We will try to optimize the textured view mode for the next version update in order to handle higher polygonal models better providing that sufficient VBO RAM limit is defined.
[/quote]

It would be amazing !
Thanks a lot

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14890
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #170 on: January 09, 2020, 02:09:03 PM »
Build normal map texture option is missing. I have made diffuse and occlusion map, should i not be able to do a normal map then?

Running 1.6.0.9925
Thank you for reporting. We'll check that.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Mak11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #171 on: January 09, 2020, 03:09:46 PM »
Build normal map texture option is missing. I have made diffuse and occlusion map, should i not be able to do a normal map then?

Running 1.6.0.9925
Thank you for reporting. We'll check that.

Alexey,

Generating Normal maps is working just fine on my side with 1.6.0.9925.

Mak

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14890
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #172 on: January 09, 2020, 03:20:24 PM »
Hello Kjellis85,

Yes, normals texture maps generation should be available in the version 1.6.0  build 9925. It requires at least two mesh models in the active chunk, as a different mesh model should be used as a source for the Normal texture map generation. Using the same model will give plain output which cannot be used any further.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Kjellis85

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Archaeological field supervisor
    • View Profile
    • Contact information at University of Tromsø
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #173 on: January 09, 2020, 03:23:08 PM »
Hello Kjellis85,

Yes, normals texture maps generation should be available in the version 1.6.0  build 9925. It requires at least two mesh models in the active chunk, as a different mesh model should be used as a source for the Normal texture map generation. Using the same model will give plain output which cannot be used any further.

Ah, this makes much more sense! But I could not find this described in the manual https://www.agisoft.com/pdf/metashape-pro_1_6_en.pdf

Mak11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #174 on: January 10, 2020, 02:36:56 AM »
Alexey,
The latest AMD Radeon 20.1.1 still crash the whole system during heavy OpenCL workloads like depth maps generation (issue since 19.12.2). Maybe you guys can get in touch with them about this as this doesn't seem to be a priority at all for them (most bug fixes are gaming related lately and they usually take more than 6 months to fix DirectCompute/OpenCL related bugs) .

Mak

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14890
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #175 on: January 10, 2020, 02:38:59 PM »
Hello Mak,

Please specify, which GPU model and OS version you are using? So that we could try to reproduce the issue on similar configuration first.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Mak11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #176 on: January 10, 2020, 02:55:15 PM »
Alexey,

Windows 10 v1909
Radeon VII

All Radeon Adrenalin 2020 driver releases (19.12.2/19.12.3/20.1.1) are prone to crash the display driver & hang the whole system during heavy OpenCL compute workloads. Happens in Adobe Lightroom, Blender when using Cycles & Radeon Pro Render & Metashape (usually when generating depth maps on Ultra High or Aligning cameras). Also as I noted in a previous post the "Compute 2" graph has disappeared from the Windows task manager (it now only reports Compute 0, 1 & 3). Something is definitely wrong on the compute side of the drivers.

Cheers

Mak

eltama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #177 on: January 10, 2020, 11:13:03 PM »
Hello eltama,

Can you please confirm that the same issue is observed in the release version 9925?

Hello Alexey

of course, I make new alignement in 9925 in highest mode without error, now I'm waiting for build mesh from deph map (no resume) in highest mode too, images are 61MP.

Hello Alexey

 I did new alignement on highest mode on 9925, build mesh in ultra high is fine but after build deph map there was an error:


2019-12-31 23:58:39 BuildModel: quality = High, depth filtering = Mild, source data = Depth maps, surface type = Arbitrary, face count = High, volumetric masking = 0, OOC version, interpolation = Enabled, vertex colors = 1
2019-12-31 23:58:40 Generating depth maps...
2019-12-31 23:58:40 Initializing...
2019-12-31 23:58:40 sorting point cloud... done in 0.044 sec
2019-12-31 23:58:40 processing matches... done in 1.525 sec
2019-12-31 23:58:41 initializing...
2019-12-31 23:58:53 selected 9819 cameras from 10272 in 12.149 sec
2019-12-31 23:58:54 groups: 98 98 98 98 98 98 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 99 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 99 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 99 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 98 99 98 98 98 98 99 98 99
2019-12-31 23:58:54 29050 of 9819 used (295.855%)
2019-12-31 23:58:54 scheduled 100 depth map groups
2019-12-31 23:58:54 saved depth map partition in 0.297 sec
2019-12-31 23:59:02 loaded depth map partition in 7.641 sec
2019-12-31 23:59:02 Initializing...
2019-12-31 23:59:02 Found 3 GPUs in 0.029 sec (CUDA: 0.028 sec, OpenCL: 0.001 sec)
2019-12-31 23:59:10 Using device: GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER, 40 compute units, free memory: 6711/8192 MB, compute capability 7.5
2019-12-31 23:59:10   driver/runtime CUDA: 10020/8000
2019-12-31 23:59:10   max work group size 1024
2019-12-31 23:59:10   max work item sizes [1024, 1024, 64]
2019-12-31 23:59:10   got device properties in 0.007 sec, free memory in 8.736 sec
2019-12-31 23:59:11 Using device: GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER, 40 compute units, free memory: 6711/8192 MB, compute capability 7.5
2019-12-31 23:59:11   driver/runtime CUDA: 10020/8000
2019-12-31 23:59:11   max work group size 1024
2019-12-31 23:59:11   max work item sizes [1024, 1024, 64]
2019-12-31 23:59:11 Using device: GeForce RTX 2080 Ti, 68 compute units, free memory: 9133/11264 MB, compute capability 7.5
2019-12-31 23:59:11   driver/runtime CUDA: 10020/8000
2019-12-31 23:59:11   max work group size 1024
2019-12-31 23:59:11   max work item sizes [1024, 1024, 64]
2019-12-31 23:59:11 Using CUDA device 'GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER' in concurrent. (2 times)
2019-12-31 23:59:11 Using CUDA device 'GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER' in concurrent. (2 times)
2019-12-31 23:59:11 Using CUDA device 'GeForce RTX 2080 Ti' in concurrent. (2 times)
2019-12-31 23:59:12 Loading photos...
2020-01-01 00:00:42 loaded photos in 89.377 seconds
2020-01-01 00:00:42 Generating depth maps...
2020-01-01 00:00:43 [GPU] estimating 3754x3093x1056 disparity using 1252x1088x8u tiles
2020-01-01 00:00:43 [GPU] estimating 3415x3255x864 disparity using 1139x1088x8u tiles
...
2020-01-09 09:35:26 Depth reconstruction devices performance:
2020-01-09 09:35:26  - 49%    done by GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
2020-01-09 09:35:26  - 28%    done by GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER
2020-01-09 09:35:26  - 23%    done by GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER
2020-01-09 09:35:26 Total time: 4930.66 seconds
2020-01-09 09:35:26
2020-01-09 09:35:26 98 depth maps generated in 5007.46 sec
2020-01-09 09:35:30 saved depth maps block in 3.577 sec
2020-01-09 09:48:04 loaded depth map partition in 750.023 sec
2020-01-09 09:48:04 Building model...
2020-01-09 09:48:04 Compression level: 1
2020-01-09 09:48:04 Preparing depth maps...
2020-01-09 09:48:04 scheduled 100 depth map groups (9772 cameras)
2020-01-09 09:48:04 saved camera partition in 0.005 sec
2020-01-09 09:48:04 loaded camera partition in 0.002 sec
2020-01-09 09:55:11 saved group #1/100: done in 426.708 s, 98 cameras, 14063 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 09:55:11 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
2020-01-09 10:02:26 saved group #2/100: done in 434.326 s, 98 cameras, 14561.7 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 10:02:26 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
2020-01-09 10:09:10 saved group #3/100: done in 404.787 s, 98 cameras, 4404.62 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 10:09:10 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
2020-01-09 10:16:01 saved group #4/100: done in 410.263 s, 98 cameras, 6907.82 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 10:16:01 loaded camera partition in 0.002 sec
2020-01-09 10:23:04 saved group #5/100: done in 423.715 s, 98 cameras, 7168.78 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 10:23:04 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
2020-01-09 10:30:12 saved group #6/100: done in 427.896 s, 98 cameras, 10572.1 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 10:30:12 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
2020-01-09 10:37:17 saved group #7/100: done in 424.942 s, 98 cameras, 9835.96 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 10:37:17 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
2020-01-09 10:44:34 saved group #8/100: done in 436.523 s, 98 cameras, 12499.9 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 10:44:34 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec

depth maps done

2020-01-09 09:35:26 98 depth maps generated in 5007.46 sec
2020-01-09 09:35:30 saved depth maps block in 3.577 sec
2020-01-09 09:48:04 loaded depth map partition in 750.023 sec
2020-01-09 09:48:04 Building model...
2020-01-09 09:48:04 Compression level: 1
2020-01-09 09:48:04 Preparing depth maps...
2020-01-09 09:48:04 scheduled 100 depth map groups (9772 cameras)
2020-01-09 09:48:04 saved camera partition in 0.005 sec
2020-01-09 09:48:04 loaded camera partition in 0.002 sec
2020-01-09 09:55:11 saved group #1/100: done in 426.708 s, 98 cameras, 14063 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 09:55:11 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
...
2020-01-09 19:29:15 saved group #82/100: done in 422.132 s, 98 cameras, 5447.74 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 19:29:15 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
2020-01-09 19:36:19 saved group #83/100: done in 424.036 s, 98 cameras, 6125.03 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 19:36:19 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
2020-01-09 19:43:32 saved group #84/100: done in 432.451 s, 98 cameras, 9505.05 MB data, 207.102 KB registry
2020-01-09 19:43:32 loaded camera partition in 0.001 sec
2020-01-09 19:48:47 Peak memory used: 69.97 GB at 2020-01-09 11:51:13
2020-01-09 19:48:47 deleting all temporary files...
2020-01-09 19:49:01 done in 14.298 s
2020-01-09 19:49:01 Finished processing in 473553 sec (exit code 0)
2020-01-09 19:49:01 Error: Too small depth map!

Now I try to generate deph maps on Higt setting.

I attach the task manager data, In a ultra high deph map generation it seems a low GPU work due to a low vram usage on  rtx 2070 s (8 GB) only ~ 2.5 GB compared to on 2080 ti (11GB) ~ 5 GB.

2020-01-09 09:35:26  - 49%    done by GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
2020-01-09 09:35:26  - 28%    done by GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER
2020-01-09 09:35:26  - 23%    done by GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER

in a high deph map generation I noticed a full use of GPU computing and more VRAM usage into the weaker GPU

I haven't the log but it was ~ like this:

  - 40%    done by GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
  - 32%    done by GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER
  - 28%    done by GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER

Best regards

Elmar




Photo-Survey-

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #178 on: January 12, 2020, 04:30:02 AM »
I have a Radeon VII and a Nvidia Titan XP in a Ryzen 9 3950X system.  If I enable the use of the Radeon VII in the settings (1.6.0) I get a system crash within 5 minutes requiring me to hard reset.  No logs reveal any issues, Power to the Radeon VII is two 8 pin cables on separate busses on the PSU.  Running burn in tests do not reveal any power issues with both GPU's and the CPU at full load.  This is the only app I use that will crash within minutes of using the Radeon VII.  I assume it's a driver issue, but I cannot be sure, any help is appreciated. 

Mak11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.6.0 pre-release
« Reply #179 on: January 12, 2020, 04:53:20 AM »
I have a Radeon VII and a Nvidia Titan XP in a Ryzen 9 3950X system.  If I enable the use of the Radeon VII in the settings (1.6.0) I get a system crash within 5 minutes requiring me to hard reset.  No logs reveal any issues, Power to the Radeon VII is two 8 pin cables on separate busses on the PSU.  Running burn in tests do not reveal any power issues with both GPU's and the CPU at full load.  This is the only app I use that will crash within minutes of using the Radeon VII.  I assume it's a driver issue, but I cannot be sure, any help is appreciated.

Try to roll back to the 19.11.1 drivers if you are running the latest Adrenalin 2020 packages (19.12.1/19.12.2/20.1.1).

Mak