Forum

Author Topic: Problems in processing thermal data (FLIR XT2) with 1.5.3 versus 1.5.0  (Read 4871 times)

3DWinter

• View Profile
Hello,
I have been using Photoscan for years and then Metashape when it came out, I am no novice. But today I witnessed certain behaviors I cannot explain.
In one machine I had Metashape 1.5.0 I processed thermal data (.tif)  form an XT2, with aircraft flying two passes (out and back with the right overlap) and it worked well.
Today I got a colleague of mine to purchase a new Metashape license, she downloaded the 1.5.3, tried processing the same data and it had significant alignment problems. Eventually, I noticed that "Adaptive camera model fitting" was not selected in advance during the alignment process. I was hoping that would resolve it, it helped but she was not able to align her model like I could with my (1.5.0). To prove the license version was not the problem I upgraded to 1.5.3, and then I started to have similar problems of data, not aligning. Assuming that nothing has changed in the alignment algorithm between versions deep in the Metashape code, then my only explanation is that I could see that certain default parameters are different between version (this is just an idea).

On another computer, I have 1.5.1 but I am also having problems during the aligning step.

Mosaicing thermal data with only two passes is a challenge, but I did process that data with 1.5.0 from two different directories and the result was consistently excellent.
1. is there a way to (downgrade)  my 1.5.3 to the 1.5.0 (I wish I have not upgraded).
2. Are there any initial parameters that changed between these versions?
        I think I was able to eliminate that the number of tie points, or limit tie points was an issue.