Forum

Author Topic: Sony A7rii for photogrammetry and lenses  (Read 6055 times)

johnymal

• View Profile
Sony A7rii for photogrammetry and lenses
« on: January 22, 2020, 09:21:58 AM »
Hello i recently bought a camera sony A7rii used for photogrammetry projects as an architect i want it only for building and facades. Now i own a sigma 24mm prime lense but i want to buy a wider like 14mm i think. As i read in another topic some of the members use zoom lens 10-20mm or 12-24mm are they right for phtogrammetry? Anny other suggestions?

remotesense

• View Profile
Re: Sony A7rii for photogrammetry and lenses
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2020, 01:08:44 AM »
FYI.  The Sony A7rii camera uses 5-axis image sensor stabilization.  This means your sensor is moving which is a bad thing for photogrammetry.  You'll have alignment errors within your data.  You should at least turn that option off if you use that camera, but its hard to say how rigid that mechanism really is.

One of the rules of photogrammetry is consistent photos between your images, to maintain good geometry for the reconstruction (alignment step).  Don't go with a zoom lens, stick to prime lens to eliminate the focal length movement between your photos.  Plus they are sharper, which helps support pixel matching producing accurate tie points to sub pixel levels.   Also, a wide angle lens will typically have a better base to height ratios, helping the software calculate your distance to that surface more accurately.

johnymal

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2020, 09:40:27 PM »
So cost is not a problem what camera and what lens do you suggest to have best quality of photos.
A canon SLR maybe? I do not want to go to medium format cameras because is very heavy..

wojtek

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2020, 03:15:28 PM »