Forum

Author Topic: Screen saver bug on mac  (Read 4125 times)

lelabo3d

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • CGI for Architects Designers Ads Industries
Screen saver bug on mac
« on: April 23, 2013, 12:01:16 PM »
Hello All,
I'm a newbie on 3D reconstruction with PS
but i do CGI for Architects Designers for 15 years now.

I'm really impressed and doing some tests with the standard version.
I'm on Mac 10.6.8 - 32Go RAM - 2x 4 core 2,4 GHz
with 1 ATI Radeon HD 5770

Well, sometimes, i've got something wrong, :-\
when i launch either a batch process or only a model building, (so a night long computing job)
it seems that since the Screen saver or login window appears (of course i tried to desactivate those 2),
or something (still trying to find what)...
the window process still appear to work (counting time, overall progress) but 0% CPU usage.
i also had the problem with the interface which stayed gray (inactive)
meaning that the process finish his job but it was impossible to have a hand on the app to make a save for example.

So i have no other choice than kill the app and loose all the already processed depth...

So i have several questions :
Do someone else had this kind of annoying problem?

is it possible to have a Cancel Button working ?  ::)
same thing for the Pause Button ?

why can't we process depth map building seperatly from 3D generation ?
and why are they not being saved on disk (in a seperate file) since they are build (one by one).

Sorry for the long post,
and i hope i'll have some feedback.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2013, 12:04:13 PM by lelabo3d »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13917
    • View Profile
Re: Screen saver bug on mac
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 01:20:44 PM »
Hello lelabo3d,

And have you checked the memory usage? Please also specify the reconstruction settings used and number/resolution of images.
Seems like the described problem is connected with insufficient RAM - the processing has gone to swap and therefore the application is not responding.
Another possible reason is extremely high number of faces in reconstructed model that graphic card could not visualize.
Have you got log file for this processing?

Depth maps could be generated if you select all photos in the Photo pane, for example, and select Build depth option from the context menu. After all the depth maps are reconstructed you'll be able to save the project file and re-use the depth maps for geometry reconstruction (remember to uncheck Build depth maps option in the Build geometry dialog).
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

lelabo3d

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • CGI for Architects Designers Ads Industries
Re: Screen saver bug on mac
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2013, 02:05:30 PM »
Hi Alexay,
thanks for replying,

well, i'm discovering the app  ;D
but i'm a long time computer user too so i've got some habits  ;)

So, it's not a Ram problem (only 2 Go used during computation on 32) so no swap
previous tests succeeds,
but i had today a new problem, slightly similar :
the "Photos" window appeared empty after a depth computation and the screen saver activated
and it seems to be linked with the login window that was activated within 5 minutes
so black screen for energy saving, and login window to prevent access to the computer.

Since i log in, the window photo was blank.

Sorry, i have no log file,
just activate it now
and i desactivated the login window.
i 'll report you my test