Forum

Author Topic: Turn off depth filtering  (Read 25636 times)

RalfH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Turn off depth filtering
« on: May 03, 2013, 06:24:04 PM »
When creating a dense point cloud, the strength of the depth filtering can be set in the preferences to either "mild", "moderate" or "aggressive". "Mild" removes the lowest number of points which - as I understand it - do not appear to belong to a connected surface. When modelling a sparse plant canopy, "mild" results in much better results than "aggressive". Still, the upper parts of some plants are removed by depth filtering. The same problem will likely affect other  objects with complicated geometry.

It would be great if the next version of Photoscan would have a fourth option: to completely turn off depth filtering.

juzUAV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Turn off depth filtering
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2013, 02:41:50 PM »
+1

Diego

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: Turn off depth filtering
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2013, 07:06:14 PM »
+1

FoodMan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 477
    • View Profile
Re: Turn off depth filtering
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2013, 08:43:11 AM »
+1  8)

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13910
    • View Profile
Re: Turn off depth filtering
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2013, 02:56:12 PM »
Hello,

Thank you for the suggestion.
We'll try to add the additional depth filtering grade.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

RalfH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: Turn off depth filtering
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2013, 03:38:11 PM »
Great! Thanks, большое спасибо, Alexey!

Is it already possible to say when this will be available? (The reason is that I am working on a publication which is almost finished, but if the feature would become available in the next few weeks I would definitely wait so I can re-process the project without depth filtering)

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13910
    • View Profile
Re: Turn off depth filtering
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2014, 05:46:53 PM »
Hello Ralf,

In the version 1.1 we've implemented Disabled filtering option, but please don't use it without the purpose, since the result in some cases may be extremely noisy.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

kiran

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Turn off depth filtering
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2021, 01:32:34 AM »
Hello,

Is this feature available? I am using 1.7.3, when I try to disableFiltering, I get the following error...

Thank you in advance.


2021-06-25 22:21:25     build_depth_maps = DepthMaps(args.imageFolder, args.modelName, args)
2021-06-25 22:21:25   File "C:\build_depth_maps.py", line 42, in __init__
2021-06-25 22:21:25     "build_dense_filtering": {  "disabled": Metashape.DisabledFiltering, "mild": Metashape.MildFiltering, "moderate": Metashape.ModerateFiltering, "aggressive": Metashape.AggressiveFiltering }.get(self.config["buildDenseCloud"]["depthFiltering"]),
2021-06-25 22:21:25 AttributeError: module 'Metashape' has no attribute 'DisabledFiltering'
2021-06-25 22:21:25 Error: module 'Metashape' has no attribute 'DisabledFiltering'

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13910
    • View Profile
Re: Turn off depth filtering
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2021, 12:44:21 AM »
Hello kiran,

Please try to set filter_mode = Metashape.FilterMode.NoFiltering for buildDepthMaps procedure.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC