Forum

Author Topic: Axis issues from DJI P4 images  (Read 1300 times)

ecp

• View Profile
Axis issues from DJI P4 images
« on: October 12, 2020, 04:39:18 PM »
So I know this is not a new issue, and I've really tried digging into previous forums (e.g. https://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=4986.msg38769#msg38769, https://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=12475.msg55437#msg55437, https://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=5739.msg27997#msg27997, ) but I can't seem to remedy my issue. Admittedly I'm very new to Metashape so I'm hoping the fix is obvious to someone a bit more experienced.

The following issue is one that I'm having, to varying degrees, with the 15+ models I'm trying to create (note: I'm not using GCPs). The axes as they manifest from the EXIF data are not correct or even realistic (screenshot 1).

My workflow is to:
1- Load images
2- Remove EXIF info
2.5- Apply masks
3- Align images to build sparse cloud
4- Select and delete "bad dots" then "optimize" --> Rinse and repeat until it looks good
5- Build dense cloud
6- Delete bad dots
7- Create mesh
8- Decimate mesh (to 1,000,000 faces to keep file size shareable, leave larger if only planning to use in Metashape)
9- Generate texture
10- Add back the EXIF data from images
11- "Clear" the cameras with large errors & rerun the location calibration <-- not sure how to do this one... might be my issue...?

This workflow was suggested to me by another user. I've attached a second image (screenshot 2) of what the model should roughly look like in its natural orientation, but you'll note the axes are mismatched in this image (Z should be Y, X should be Z and Y should be X). A secondary question, would be: is this workflow even appropriate/optimal for data without GCPs?

Finally, I've incorporated a picture of the first several rows of my reference pain for EXIF data (screenshot 3).