Forum

Author Topic: The Meaning of GCP's moving from coords after processing pt cloud?  (Read 1288 times)

jmaeding

• View Profile
I've been using metashape for a few years now (was PS), and ran into somthing I need to understand.
I'm a civil that flies a phantom 4 pro, and has GCP points on the ground.
I use the USGS workflow I have posted here before, and generally get super good clean results.
I had a run though, where after processing the control points show quite a bit above the ground.
It occurred to me to uncheck the markers and I realized there is a "real" location, and "compiled" one - wow.
If I uncheck the markers, they show at coords I gave them and are right on the ground.
Now I am wondering what to think of this. Why would the results be essentially correct, yet the markers moved vertically after processing?
I know unchecking makes them check points. Does a large difference (more than 1 foot) between original and final location indicate anything is bad?

I'm literally facing my boss and client, wondering if I should use the data or discard and refly.
thanks

Alexey Pasumansky

• Agisoft Technical Support
    • View Profile
Re: The Meaning of GCP's moving from coords after processing pt cloud?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2020, 10:19:35 PM »
Hello jmaeding,

If the onboard GPS is not RTK, then 1 foot error could be just related to the low accuracy GPS.

However, another possible reason of the problem is the altitude information recorded by DJI - it could be written over the sea level or over the take off point, while by default Metashape expects the height above ellipsoid.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

dpitman

• View Profile
Re: The Meaning of GCP's moving from coords after processing pt cloud?
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2020, 04:36:56 PM »
Hi jmaeding,