Forum

Author Topic: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release  (Read 65530 times)

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13717
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #30 on: October 28, 2020, 04:19:57 PM »
I've run into the problem with the Metashape 1.7.0. Build 11340 - WIN/PRO version. On some projects it makes the Tiled model while on some it exits immediately with the message :
Assertion 23910910010 failed at line 54

Hello Darko,

Please specify, if you have "fine level task subdivision" option enabled in the Advanced Preferences tab? Additionally please provide the processing log related to the failed operation.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

dcobra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #31 on: October 28, 2020, 04:27:03 PM »
I can't seem to use GPU for depth map generation.  I get the following error:

Warning: Device GeForce GTX 1070 Ti ignored because it has 5958/8192 MB available, but 6870 MB required

Log up to that point is attached.  I have two identical GPUs and haven't had any issues like this in the past.
Hello dcobra,

Please check, if it helps to set up the following teak to 40 value, via Advanced Preferences tab -> Tweaks dialog:
main/depth_pm_max_neighbors

Alexey,

Thank you for the suggestion.  It worked.

Best,
Cody

James

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 730
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #32 on: October 28, 2020, 05:54:18 PM »

[For laser scans] Current approach is the following:
...
- run Align Photos operation as usual.
Does that mean that the poses of the laser scans will be adjusted in addition to the internal and external parameters calculated for the standard cameras?

As a user who commonly combines laser scan data with photogrammetry that is not at all what I would want to happen. The laser scan data will almost always be coming from other software where we have much more control over the alignment process. Therefore the laser scan data should be treated as fixed (no pose adjustments) and photos aligned to it.

...

Yes, it can be said that the laser scans are aligned together with the common images.

If you need to rely on the accurate scanner locations, you can input corresponding coordinates to the Reference pane for the related camera instances and adjust the accuracy value for them in order to increase the weight for them.

...

I would also like to see an option to just check a box or similar to force laser scan alignment to be preserved exactly, if it had been registered already in a 3rd party package, otherwise the function would not be useful. It seems a lot of manual work to input the coordinates of each laser setup (and presumably orientation?) to ensure they stay fixed. I take great care over my registration and wouldn't trust any algorithm to do a better job! We treat our laser data as sacred and once it is registered everything else (so many things...) is derived from it, but can not be allowed to affect it!

I haven't actually tried 1.7 yet so I might not know what I'm talking about, but it seemed like a potential issue!

jedfrechette

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Lidar Guys
    • View Profile
    • www.lidarguys.com
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #33 on: October 28, 2020, 08:24:27 PM »
It seems a lot of manual work to input the coordinates of each laser setup (and presumably orientation?) to ensure they stay fixed. I take great care over my registration and wouldn't trust any algorithm to do a better job! We treat our laser data as sacred and once it is registered everything else (so many things...) is derived from it, but can not be allowed to affect it!

Agreed 100%. Treating laser scans as fixed should be the default behavior. Perhaps other users have a use-case where they should be freely adjusted but I strongly suspect that is a minority position, in which case, it should require additional settings to achieve.

If setting scan locations and rotations is the way to prevent scans from moving that should happen automatically during import and their accuracy weights set high enough that they do not move at all during future alignments.
Jed

laurent.G

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #34 on: October 28, 2020, 09:42:42 PM »
I ve try to install pre-release on RYZEN 3900x Windows 10 but installer finish without install metashape.
What can i do ?

Hello Laurent,

Are you observing any errors during the installation? If there are any, please provide the related screenshots or specify exact error message observed.

hello Alexey
i don't have a special error only this message...
thanks

Diego

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #35 on: October 29, 2020, 02:34:40 AM »
Pre-release version of Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 is available for download.

It is possible that for this new version will be incorporated into the generation of images without distortion the possibility of eliminating the effect of Rolling Shutter, or there is some way to do it with the current version,  thank you very much

*GUI option (File Menu -> Export -> Undistort Photos) =  does not correct Rolling shutter effect

Thanks for your support

dcobra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #36 on: October 29, 2020, 03:26:38 AM »
I can't seem to use GPU for depth map generation.  I get the following error:

Warning: Device GeForce GTX 1070 Ti ignored because it has 5958/8192 MB available, but 6870 MB required

Log up to that point is attached.  I have two identical GPUs and haven't had any issues like this in the past.
Hello dcobra,

Please check, if it helps to set up the following teak to 40 value, via Advanced Preferences tab -> Tweaks dialog:
main/depth_pm_max_neighbors

Alexey,

Thank you for the suggestion.  It worked.

Best,
Cody

I just finished processing a dense point cloud and the result is amazing.  Much less noise than previous versions.  Great work!

Darko

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • CADCOM
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #37 on: October 29, 2020, 11:16:42 AM »
Sorry, I've forgotten to Quote it. It is all about Tiled model failure.

Hi Alexey,

Thank's for your answer.
1. Yes "Fine level task subdivision" was checked
2. The log file is attached to this message.
I've noticed that sometimes it works and sometimes not. Cannot figure out what is the trigger.
Best, Darko

I've just tried to do the Dense Cloud and Mesh.. Nothing works with the same message in that project.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2020, 11:26:31 AM by Darko »

Diego

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #38 on: November 01, 2020, 06:19:18 PM »
Pre-release version of Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 is available for download.

It is possible that for this new version will be incorporated into the generation of images without distortion the possibility of eliminating the effect of Rolling Shutter, or there is some way to do it with the current version,  thank you very much

*GUI option (File Menu -> Export -> Undistort Photos) =  does not correct Rolling shutter effect

Thanks for your support

Dmitry or Alexey,

Some possibility, by many means I have made this query and I do not get any response. Thanks for your reply.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13717
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #39 on: November 02, 2020, 03:19:36 PM »
Sorry, I've forgotten to Quote it. It is all about Tiled model failure.

Hi Alexey,

Thank's for your answer.
1. Yes "Fine level task subdivision" was checked
2. The log file is attached to this message.
I've noticed that sometimes it works and sometimes not. Cannot figure out what is the trigger.
Best, Darko

I've just tried to do the Dense Cloud and Mesh.. Nothing works with the same message in that project.

Hello Darko,

Please check if the same issue is observed in 1.7.0 pre-release update, build 11429.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Paulo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 968
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #40 on: November 03, 2020, 04:17:40 AM »
I am coming back to depth maps generation time of 1.7 vs 1.6.

I have a set of 280 16 MPix images taken from a Drone.

In version 1.6 I got following results:

Depth Maps   
Count   280
Depth maps generation parameters   
Quality   High
Filtering mode   Aggressive
Processing time   4 hours 29 minutes oe 269 min
Memory usage   1.70 GB
Software version   1.6.5.11249
File size   1.37 GB

so average generation time per image is 269 / 280 = 0.96 min

In version 1.7, I got these results on 268 images as some were disabled:

Depth Maps   
Count   268
Depth maps generation parameters   
Quality   High
Filtering mode   Mild
Processing time   6 hours 11 minutes or 371 min
Memory usage   5.46 GB
Software version   1.7.0.11429
File size   1.44 GB

so average generation time per image is 371/ 268 = 1.38 min

So average generation time per image is 44% greater in version 1.7 compared to 1.65....

I think Agisoft should really try to optimize time performance so that 1.7 becomes feasible...
Best Regards,

Paul Pelletier,
Surveyor

RHenriques

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #41 on: November 03, 2020, 06:59:01 AM »
Hi Alexey



The 1.7.0 build 11429 still has troubles to detect all the available CUDA GPU's (1.6.5 is working just fine), as I told in my last post.
Cheers

 

Darko

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • CADCOM
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #42 on: November 03, 2020, 07:20:55 AM »
Sorry, I've forgotten to Quote it. It is all about Tiled model failure.

Hi Alexey,

Thank's for your answer.
1. Yes "Fine level task subdivision" was checked
2. The log file is attached to this message.
I've noticed that sometimes it works and sometimes not. Cannot figure out what is the trigger.
Best, Darko

I've just tried to do the Dense Cloud and Mesh.. Nothing works with the same message in that project.

Hello Darko,

Please check if the same issue is observed in 1.7.0 pre-release update, build 11429.

Hello Aleksey,
Unfortunately the problem remains even in the latest version, build 11429. With the other sample I have tried to make locally first and it bailed out with the same message and later I have tried to delegate the job to the cloud and after 15 minutes it reached 51% and stopped there for couple of hours. It ended with the message "Connection Closed (RemoteHostClosedError).
So I just exited it and tried the sample I did before and started the Log. But the result was the same. The Log file is attached to this message.
Best, Darko

Paulo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 968
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #43 on: November 03, 2020, 09:06:25 AM »
I get following error when blending textures in Build Tiled Model from Depth Maps:

Error: Cannot find suitable device

I think it is related to missing VK_EXT_shader_viewport_index_layer.

Using GPU GeForce GTX 670MX. 

Same error appears when using Build Texture....

See attached log...

Update:

it seems version 1.6 has same missing extension issue for GPU GeForce GTX 670MX but it deals with it by continuing Texture Blending using CPU. See:

Code: [Select]
2020-11-06 01:47:46 Agisoft Metashape Professional Version: 1.6.5 build 11249 (64 bit)
2020-11-06 01:47:46 Platform: Windows
2020-11-06 01:47:46 CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz (laptop)
2020-11-06 01:47:46 CPU family: 6 model: 58 signature: 306A9h
2020-11-06 01:47:46 RAM: 16.0 GB
2020-11-06 01:47:48 OpenGL Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
2020-11-06 01:47:48 OpenGL Renderer: GeForce GTX 670MX/PCIe/SSE2
2020-11-06 01:47:48 OpenGL Version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 425.31
....
2020-11-06 01:49:32 Blending textures...
2020-11-06 01:49:34 Found 1 GPUs in 0.433 sec (CUDA: 0.396 sec, OpenCL: 0.037 sec)
2020-11-06 01:49:36 Using device: GeForce GTX 670MX, 5 compute units, free memory: 2490/3072 MB, compute capability 3.0
2020-11-06 01:49:36   driver/runtime CUDA: 10010/8000
2020-11-06 01:49:36   max work group size 1024
2020-11-06 01:49:36   max work item sizes [1024, 1024, 64]
2020-11-06 01:49:36   got device properties in 0.001 sec, free memory in 2.467 sec
2020-11-06 01:49:36 Initializing context...
2020-11-06 01:49:37 Extension VK_EXT_shader_viewport_index_layer is missing on device
2020-11-06 01:49:37 Cannot use GPU. Reason: Cannot find suitable device
2020-11-06 01:49:37 Performing blending on CPU...
....

so maybe same approach can be taken to deal with this problem in v.1.7
« Last Edit: November 06, 2020, 11:13:38 PM by Paulo »
Best Regards,

Paul Pelletier,
Surveyor

laurent.G

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.7.0 pre-release
« Reply #44 on: November 03, 2020, 11:42:47 AM »
I ve try to install pre-release on RYZEN 3900x Windows 10 but installer finish without install metashape.
What can i do ?

Hello Laurent,

Are you observing any errors during the installation? If there are any, please provide the related screenshots or specify exact error message observed.

hello Alexey
i don't have a special error only this message...
thanks
hello Alexey,
i have test the new release and i have the same error
thanks for you answer