Forum

Author Topic: Importing pointclouds with normals  (Read 3249 times)

Zissou

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Importing pointclouds with normals
« on: October 28, 2020, 07:57:24 PM »
Hello everyone!

I have a project that needs to combine scanned data pointclouds with agisoft pointclouds. Combining the clouds derived from photos and scanes I hope to make a nice mesh. This way I will hopefully fix geometry on white and glossy surfaces, but add textures from Agisoft. I imported e57 (that does have normals or scan positions) but photoscan imports them without normals, it calculates them. Am I doning something wrong?

I can export the scanned data in additional formats pts, e75, ptx, ptg. Which one would you recommend? Or from which of those does photoscan read the scan positions as normals? I am using cyclon register 360 and I scanned with the blk360.

Thank you for your answers!

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Importing pointclouds with normals
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2020, 08:05:28 PM »
Hello Zissou,

If E57 file contains the normals, they should be imported automatically. If you are not observing that on your side, please share the sample E57 file to support@agisoft.com, so that we could reproduce the behavior and check in on our side.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Zissou

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Importing pointclouds with normals
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2020, 08:14:15 PM »
I have sent via wetransfer!

Zissou

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Importing pointclouds with normals
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2020, 11:50:26 AM »
Hello!

I would like to add something. I have tested all the exports from  Cyclone Register and imported them into Agisoft, none of them seem to have normals. BUT they do have data of scan positions which apparently is not the same. Meaning I have to export the clouds into other software (like Cyclone 3RD) which can calculate the normals using that information (scan position), since separate clouds (scans) are tied to that positions. This is my understanding so far - I might be wrong (waiting for the answer from Leica Systems)

Does Agisoft (or future version like 1.7) has the option to do that? Or does it have the option to calculate normals spherically? It would be a tremendous workflow improvement.

Alternatively do you have any suggestions which software can effectively do that?

Dieter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
Re: Importing pointclouds with normals
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2020, 08:07:42 PM »
The problem is not in metashape.
I tested this with Trimble Realworks and with Faro Scene. The normals are not exported in either of the two software packages. I also asked the two manufacturers: We are working on it - so far for 2 years :(

Dieter

cyrilp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Importing pointclouds with normals
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2022, 04:31:41 PM »
Hi, did you find how to export normals in Register 360 ? i have the same issue