Forum

Author Topic: V1.7.0 - Increased RMS reprojection error  (Read 1026 times)

dcobra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
V1.7.0 - Increased RMS reprojection error
« on: January 05, 2021, 09:26:33 PM »
I've noticed an increase in RMS reprojection error in V1.7.0 compared to V1.6.5.  I have attached screen shots of project info from a model processed with the same parameters in both versions.  In V1.7.0 RMS reprojection error is 0.424 px and in V1.6.5 it is 0.331 px.  I also notice that there is a notable decrease in the number of tie points in V1.7.0.  I'm assuming that the difference in RMS is attributed to how the tie points are being selected and filtered.  Also interesting is the increase in tie point multiplicity and increase in max reprojection error in V1.7.0.

Is this expected behavior and why is it happening?  Does this have any effect on model accuracy?  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

c-r-o-n-o-s

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: V1.7.0 - Increased RMS reprojection error
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2021, 12:11:03 AM »
...I can confirm that!

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13642
    • View Profile
Re: V1.7.0 - Increased RMS reprojection error
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2021, 02:31:52 PM »
Hello dcobra,

It seems that the higher reprojection error in this case is required to the higher average number of tie point projections (tie point multiplicity) compared to the version 1.6.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

dcobra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: V1.7.0 - Increased RMS reprojection error
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2021, 03:43:22 PM »
Thanks Alexey.