Forum

Author Topic: Import point cloud from .pts file  (Read 1181 times)

joegeisz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Import point cloud from .pts file
« on: January 28, 2021, 06:46:33 PM »
Hello,

I am unable to import point clouds in .pts file format. Once the file is selected, the console says "loading 726804 points...", and it calculates the normal, but then the resulting dense point cloud has 0 points. I saw a similar post topic from a while back that looked unresolved. I even created a .pts file by exporting a dense point cloud from metashape, and then tried to reload the points in a new project but the same thing happened.

Thanks!

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13822
    • View Profile
Re: Import point cloud from .pts file
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2021, 06:58:39 PM »
Hello joegeisz,

PTS file format should contain the number of points (number of lines to be read) in the very first line of this file.

Otherwise the first found number (would be likely X coordinate of the first point) will be incorrectly interpreted and the number of points.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

joegeisz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Import point cloud from .pts file
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2021, 07:06:00 PM »
Hi Alexey,

Thanks for the reply. Yes my file has this line at the beginning. As I said it was exported from metashape, but when reading the dense cloud has 0 points.


Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13822
    • View Profile
Re: Import point cloud from .pts file
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2021, 07:48:13 PM »
Hello joegeisz,

I have tried to reproduce the problem on a few random projects by exporting PTS file and importing back, but everything worked as expected.

Are you using Metashape 1.7 version?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

joegeisz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Import point cloud from .pts file
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2021, 08:22:09 PM »
I am using 1.6, so I will update and get back to you. Thanks

joegeisz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Import point cloud from .pts file
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2021, 11:08:11 PM »
Works just fine in 1.7! Thanks for your help.