Forum

Author Topic: Hughe issues to align pictures  (Read 2620 times)

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Hughe issues to align pictures
« on: March 11, 2021, 07:00:58 PM »
Im wondering why Im having such issues on this project.

I know that scanning forests is not that easy, but I never had any issues before. I made an altitude terrain following scan with about 1500 pictures. But each time I try to alighn, Agisoft is messing it up completely.

I already updated to latest release, but still not lucky. Also the viewport on this new version is really slow. I need always to click on rest viewport to see again where my cameras are.

I tried with low quality, high quality.... nothing works.

Steps:
1. Flight was 2 tracks in about 60m over terrain, terrain following mode activated (terrain has about 300m of altitude differences)
2. All pictures have a quality more than 0,75 and are generated from sharp DNGs.
3. Cameras are calibrated with Rolling shutter
4. Alignment by source, reference, 40k 4k, adaptive yes (now Im trying sequential)


see attachment of source images position. They are perfectly aligned from GPS coordinates before Agisoft touches them

Mak11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2021, 07:08:24 PM »
Make sure to list your HW specs and Metashape + GPU driver version.

Mak

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2021, 07:10:23 PM »
This is the result.... see error areas evidentiated

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2021, 07:15:07 PM »
Overlapping is also really high about 70-80% see image overlap sample from 2 adeacent images

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2021, 07:23:29 PM »
HW

Intel Core i7-6700HQ
32 GB DDR4 RAM
64 GB VRAM on SSD
Intel Graphics + NVIDIA GeForce  GTX 960M
UHD Monitor

SW
Latest Agisoft
GeForce Driver 376,54


But still 5 months ago with Agisoft 1.5 I was not able to process. Maybe the powerlines creates difficulties, but it should not affect so much the alignemnt. Also 1 year bevore I was able to scan the smaller part of the powerlines withouth any issues (was only 250 images at that time)

I see on statistics that Agisoft thing there is a low overlapping, wich is not true. Also Agisoft makes a lot of images groups

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2021, 06:09:45 PM »
Can anyone from the Team help please?

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2021, 06:21:31 PM »
Im wondering, why is Agisoft only using 50% of CPU power, 15% of Intel GPU and 3% of NVIDIA GPU? Seems that the machine is absolutely not used to the limits of possible to make calculation faster....

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14099
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2021, 07:56:18 PM »
Hello GrinGEO,

Can you please send the project in PSZ format saved after alignment procedure to support@agisoft.com?

As for the hardware utilization - which stage you are referring to and how do you evaluate GPU utilization?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2021, 11:03:26 PM »
Archive send by Mail

GPU Utiisation was measured by Winodws 10 Advanced Task Manager. Do you have any advice how I can measure this better?

Thanks for helping

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14099
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2021, 11:22:55 PM »
Hello GrinGEO,

I'll check the provided data.

As for the GPU utilization - in Windows 10 Task Manager you need to go to GPU tab and switch one of the graphs to "Cuda" mode during the GPU-supported stage (in the processing log of Metashape the GPU-supported stages start with GPU initialization lines). Alternatively you can use GPU-Z or NVIDIA-SMI tools.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2021, 03:37:46 PM »
It's interesting
In High Quality Image Alignment Intel GPU 3D Graph goes up til 75%... so much more than bevore
NVIDIA GPU 3D Graph is still only 2% - there is no CUDA Option. I can change to Compute_0 mode but still not more

It's interesting... in Log Files of Agisoft I see much more Line statig Liading Kerne for Intel HD Graphics 530

It still say Using device: GeForce GTX CUDA
but more often Using device: Intel HD 530

vbarty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Hughe issues to align pictures
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2021, 06:02:47 PM »
Hi GrinGEO,

Lately, I have had quite big problems with aligning photos above only-grass areas with quite bad light conditions. After trying different approaches I was able to align most of the photos with Medium quality, Generic preselection ON and Reference preselection OFF.
I also had some GCP marked on pictures already before the alignment process.
Maby that would work for you too.

BR