Forum

Author Topic: Export Orthomosaic => JPG compression fails at native GSD  (Read 1595 times)

toxicmag

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Export Orthomosaic => JPG compression fails at native GSD
« on: March 30, 2021, 02:34:02 PM »
Dear Support-Team,

export of an Orthomosaic just gave me the following feedback (s. screenshot attached).

I changed some parameters and it seems to be only buggy when exporting into default GSD given by the entire project itself and JPG.

summary:
#  JPG compression does NOT work at default (native) GSD (here: 1.31cm/px)
#  If i change the GSD values just slightly the export works fine
#  LZW compression works
#  JPG works at all other GSDs
#multirotor #VTOL #Trinity #Quantum-Systems #a6000 #a7R #RedEdge #ALTUM #RX1II

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13210
    • View Profile
Re: Export Orthomosaic => JPG compression fails at native GSD
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2021, 02:44:44 PM »
Hello Alex,

Can you share the log from the Console pane related to the failed export operation (sensible information, such as paths can be removed before posting)?

What is the expected size of the output orthomosaic?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

toxicmag

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Re: Export Orthomosaic => JPG compression fails at native GSD
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2021, 03:11:16 PM »
Hello Alexey,

expected filesize will just crack the 2GB border.
Selecting "write BigTIFF file" does not help.

LZW files end up at 4GB

2021-03-30 13:46:05 ExportOrthomosaic: image_format = TIFF, path = E:/2021-03-16_XXXXXX/2021-03-30_Ortho_1.31cm_JPG97.tif, projection = Planar, resolution_x = 0.013170599999999999, resolution_y = 0.013170599999999999, save_alpha = off, save_world = on
2021-03-30 13:46:05 Exporting orthomosaic...
2021-03-30 13:46:05 generating 67339 x 49492 raster in 1 x 1 tiles
2021-03-30 13:46:07 libtiff error: Strip/tile too large for JPEG
2021-03-30 13:46:07 Finished processing in 2.037 sec (exit code 0)
2021-03-30 13:46:07 Error: TIFFWriteScanline: unexpected error: E:/2021-03-16_XXXXXXXX/2021-03-30_Ortho_1.31cm_JPG97.tif
>>>
#multirotor #VTOL #Trinity #Quantum-Systems #a6000 #a7R #RedEdge #ALTUM #RX1II

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13210
    • View Profile
Re: Export Orthomosaic => JPG compression fails at native GSD
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2021, 03:27:44 PM »
Hello Alex,

Does it help to enable "Tiled TIFF" option?

JPEG compression is limited to 65535x65535 pixels per block.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

toxicmag

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Re: Export Orthomosaic => JPG compression fails at native GSD
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2021, 09:03:46 AM »
Hi Alexey,

i just checked the "tiled" file option and it worked.     :)

I'd like to search later what this option does, because the funny thing is that the console said: generating 67339x47398 raster in 1x1 tiles.
So after all it still is just 1 tile (file is ~2.2GB) and it doesn't mean to get several tiles like when you use the split option in many tiles.

THX a lot Alexey!

 :D
« Last Edit: March 31, 2021, 09:10:13 AM by toxicmag »
#multirotor #VTOL #Trinity #Quantum-Systems #a6000 #a7R #RedEdge #ALTUM #RX1II

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13210
    • View Profile
Re: Export Orthomosaic => JPG compression fails at native GSD
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2021, 11:36:41 AM »
Hello Alex,

Tiled TIFF is an internal representation of the raster data, each internal tile is compressed separately..
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Payne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Export Orthomosaic => JPG compression fails at native GSD
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2021, 11:20:53 AM »
Hello Alexey,

I have the same problem and actually testing the "tiled" file option solution.

In general the process needs much more time with the tiled option (2 hours compared to 10 mins normally).
I was wondering why this is working in some cases without any extra options and in special cases not.
Is this caused by different resolutions?

Best,
Norman