Forum

Author Topic: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release  (Read 14458 times)

Paulo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #45 on: December 01, 2021, 01:09:52 AM »
Are these scripts compatible with 1.8.0?
https://github.com/agisoft-llc/metashape-scripts
I adapted the footprints_to_shapes.py for 1.8 and set a pull request....
Best Regards,

Paul Pelletier

bisenberger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
    • Digital Mapping & Graphics
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #46 on: December 01, 2021, 03:25:22 PM »
I have a project with 7 chunks. I ran the Batch Process - Build Mesh to process all the chunks. When it was finished it had only built part of the mesh for several of the chunks:



Version 1.8.0 build 13354

I ran Batch Process - Build Mesh on 3 of the 7 chunks. It did not complete 2 it of them. If I run Workflow - Build Mesh... the entire model is created (it is able to reuse depth maps). Version 1.80 build 13597.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2021, 03:31:54 PM by bisenberger »
Digital Mapping & Graphics LLC
https://digital-mapping.net/

bisenberger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
    • Digital Mapping & Graphics
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #47 on: December 01, 2021, 03:26:12 PM »
Oops! not sure how that double post happened.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2021, 03:29:41 PM by bisenberger »
Digital Mapping & Graphics LLC
https://digital-mapping.net/

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13289
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #48 on: December 01, 2021, 03:50:05 PM »
Hello Bill,

Can you please provide the screenshot of Build Mesh task parameters from the Batch Process dialog?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

bisenberger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
    • Digital Mapping & Graphics
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #49 on: December 01, 2021, 08:01:27 PM »
Hello Bill,

Can you please provide the screenshot of Build Mesh task parameters from the Batch Process dialog?

Here you go Alexey:


The first time I ran it had it set to process all.
Digital Mapping & Graphics LLC
https://digital-mapping.net/

Vladimir Denisov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #50 on: December 02, 2021, 07:21:04 PM »
Hello Bill,

Can you please provide the screenshot of Build Mesh task parameters from the Batch Process dialog?

Here you go Alexey:


The first time I ran it had it set to process all.

Try to set Reuse Depth Maps to No.

bgreenstone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #51 on: December 02, 2021, 08:25:38 PM »
So far I'm having good luck with this beta.  There's still a lot of blobby gibberish being generated in most of my scans, but it's usually far enough away from the real geometry and not connected to it that it's fairly easy to remove.  Still, 1.7.3 was the last version that generated totally clean meshes that didn't need any cleanup (for my application).  The native Apple Silicon support is nice, and there's definitely a speed boost with this build.  No crashes yet which is promising :)

-Brian

bgreenstone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #52 on: December 03, 2021, 05:58:17 AM »
Well, this scan had 70 cameras and came out quite blobby on the underside.  Some of the blobs are connected to the main geometry so it's not usable.  This is the first failure I've had with this new beta version.  I'll have to go back to 1.7.3 to get this one to work properly.

-Brian


« Last Edit: December 03, 2021, 06:00:13 AM by bgreenstone »

bgreenstone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #53 on: December 03, 2021, 06:11:34 PM »
I just had my first system freeze with the new beta.  This time I had Metashape running a batch and during the depth map generation process I launched Blender.  As soon as Blender came up and showed me it's window the system froze.   In previous versions of Metashape the depth map process would cause my Mac Pro and MacBook Pro to randomly freeze up even if I was doing nothing.  However, I have noticed a pattern that if I try to use Blender at the same time it seems to cause these freezes to happen far more often.  Perhaps both applications are fighting for GPU resources?  I'm not sure why that would cause the Mac to entirely freeze up and require a hard reboot though.  I can use Blender while Metashape is working in the background about 90% of the time, but sometimes it seems to trigger these freezes.  Blender, of course, never causes a system freeze on it's own - only when Metashape is doing Depth Map generation in the background.

wojtek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #54 on: December 05, 2021, 05:46:42 PM »
I also had a crash after waking up my screen just now (during dense cloud generation), did not happen with prior versions.

bisenberger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
    • Digital Mapping & Graphics
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #55 on: December 05, 2021, 11:49:48 PM »
Strange things happening with face count:

Digital Mapping & Graphics LLC
https://digital-mapping.net/

aniket@aus.co.in

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #56 on: December 06, 2021, 12:50:12 PM »
I'm trying to build dem using the python API and it works fine with metashape 1.7 but not with 1.8. I couldn't find anything that relates to this in change log. I've attached logs for a small dataset that throws Empty dem error.

wojtek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #57 on: December 06, 2021, 01:55:46 PM »
Strange things happening with face count:



Do you see the entire mesh on the low polycount result? I've had some meshes clipped almost completely (like 10% of the geometry left)

bisenberger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
    • Digital Mapping & Graphics
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #58 on: December 06, 2021, 03:39:09 PM »
Strange things happening with face count:



Do you see the entire mesh on the low polycount result? I've had some meshes clipped almost completely (like 10% of the geometry left)

Yes, the whole mesh was visible on the Medium quality.

I re-installed version 1.7.4 and ran the same batch Process - Build Mesh, on the same data set I had issues with in version 1.8.0. With version 1.7.4 the Batch Process completed all 7 chunks without issue.
Digital Mapping & Graphics LLC
https://digital-mapping.net/

bisenberger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
    • Digital Mapping & Graphics
Re: Agisoft Metashape 1.8.0 pre-release
« Reply #59 on: December 06, 2021, 09:59:09 PM »
Version 1.8.0 (build 13597) mesh better results than 1.7.4 on this model:

Digital Mapping & Graphics LLC
https://digital-mapping.net/