Forum

Author Topic: Error: Can't load projections:  (Read 986 times)

mjss25

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Error: Can't load projections:
« on: September 28, 2021, 12:25:09 AM »
Hi Follks,

I have a project with 1,317 pictures taken with a P4P. After processing everything and exporting the DSM and orthophoto into a TIF file, we tried to generate a report of the overall processing. Then we receive the error shown on the attached screenshot and the logfile.txt created. Once we tried to export the report and close the project, trying to open again the project raises another error and we can't open the recently close project. See the screenshot.

We are using Metashape 1.7.4, build 13028, 64 bits for Windows 10. Any ideas what is goin on here? Thanks for your help.

Milton

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13210
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2021, 02:13:44 PM »
Hello Milton,

Does the following file exist: 2021_06_29_BCI_Dipterys.files/0/0/point_cloud/point_cloud.zip

If so, is it a valid archive - can you unpack it to some location without any errors?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

mjss25

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2021, 05:36:34 PM »
Hi Alexey,

Thanks for replying. Yes, the file does exist but it can't be opened. If I try to opening it as a regular zip file, it says it can't be opened as archive. See attached picture.

Other projects are working great; it's only this one. We have processed it twice and the same results. I even downgraded Metashape to 1.7.3 and it's showing the same error.

Milton
« Last Edit: September 28, 2021, 05:42:22 PM by mjss25 »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13210
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2021, 08:41:25 PM »
Hello Milton,

Do you mean that the point_cloud.zip archive frequently gets corrupted for different projects processed on the same machine?

Are there any disk indexing, data synchronization or similar processes running in the background (for example, DropBox, GoogleDrive and similar synchronization operations) for the project containing folder?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

mjss25

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2021, 10:12:15 PM »
Alexey,

No, it only happened with this particular project twice. Other projects are working fine with no errors so far. And there's no indexing service or dropbox sync operations going on the folder. What do you recommend to retrieve this project?

Milton

mjss25

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2021, 05:49:34 AM »
Alexey,

Now it happened with another project on the same computer. See the attached screenshot. The error message now is "Can't load tracks:". I'm worried now that my projects are getting corrupted somehow.

Milton

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13210
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2021, 01:40:21 PM »
Hello Milton,

Are the affected projects saved on local or network/external drives?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

mjss25

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2021, 07:58:08 PM »
Hi Alexey,

Yes, all of our projects are saved and read directly from an external LaCie 2big RAID USB 3.0.

Milton


Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13210
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2021, 07:33:09 PM »
Hello Milton,

Then I would suggest to try saving the project on a local drive and check, if the same processing operation for the problematic dataset works properly in these conditions.

Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

mjss25

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2021, 12:41:06 AM »
Alexey,

I moved the projects to another internal disk and when trying to open them, the same errors raise. It seems the projects are now corrupted. Is there a way to salvage the project? To remove some items off the zips files to allow the project to be recovered? I doubt my external unit is the culprit: I can process the images, generate DEM, orthophoto and cloudpoint without problems. These are intensive operations. The project get corrupted in very small operations like saving or generating the process report.

Any ideas on how to salvage the projects?

Thanks in advance for your time!

Milton

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13210
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2021, 03:34:03 PM »
Hello Milton,

Corrupted files cannot be recovered, you can just exclude them from the project to be able to open valid data. To do that from the frame.zip->doc.xml file remove the lines (in the end of file) related to the corrupted archives, then re-open Metashape project.

But I wanted to confirm, if you observe the project files being affected/corrupted, when the project has been initially saved on the local drive and processed locally.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

mjss25

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2021, 11:59:09 PM »
Alexey,

I tried to remove the reference for the cloud_point data on frame.zip, editing the doc.xml, but after doing this, I received an "XML syntax error" on the app. The lines were originally:

<thumbnails path="thumbnails/thumbnails.zip"/>
<point_cloud path="point_cloud/point_cloud.zip"/>
<depth_maps id="0" path="depth_maps/depth_maps.zip"/>
<dense_cloud id="0" path="dense_cloud/dense_cloud.zip"/>
<elevation id="0" path="elevation/elevation.zip"/>
<orthomosaic id="0" path="orthomosaic/orthomosaic.zip"/>

And changed to:

<thumbnails path="thumbnails/thumbnails.zip"/>
<depth_maps id="0" path="depth_maps/depth_maps.zip"/>
<dense_cloud id="0" path="dense_cloud/dense_cloud.zip"/>
<elevation id="0" path="elevation/elevation.zip"/>
<orthomosaic id="0" path="orthomosaic/orthomosaic.zip"/>

Saved the XML and zipped again on frame.zip.  In case you need to remember, attached is another screenshot when the point_cloud line is included.

Any ideas on why isn't working?

Milton

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13210
    • View Profile
Re: Error: Can't load projections:
« Reply #12 on: October 21, 2021, 05:24:11 PM »
Hello Milton,

Please send both old and new frame.zip files to support@agisoft.com and also the complete log part from the Console pane related to the failed project load.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC