Forum

Author Topic: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV  (Read 8056 times)

aphextwin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« on: July 27, 2013, 06:54:04 PM »
Just bought this one:

http://www.dpreview.com/previews/ricohgrdiv

- Built-in Intervalometer with EVERY option you wish
- CCD sensor (global shutter)
- fixed zoom lens
- light weight (about 220g)
- 10MP quite enough (imho)

Just in case smbdy is interested, I did this with this camera:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=leXF4tXUbUg

piste

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2013, 08:01:58 PM »
Hi aphextwin!!
Very nice results!!
A few questions...
  • Which software do you use for virtual flight creation?
  • Do you combine aerial images with terrestial ones for complete model creation?
  • Is model in video the same exported by photoscan? or do you use any other software for mesh improving?
Thanks so much.
David

aphextwin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2013, 12:19:06 PM »
Hi David,

3. this model is not altered by zbrush or any other software, it?s an OBJ-Export from PS.

2. No, besides the SfM, the photos are only used for texture-generation (which is done in PS)

1. Blender for animation and rendering as it is simple to use, quick and effective.

I hope these informations give you a little overview.

WickedShell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2013, 02:06:47 PM »
In the model you linked, was that created using a multi-rotor platform?

aphextwin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2013, 02:09:02 PM »
yes... I see no other way getting the images for such a model.

piste

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2013, 08:53:29 PM »
so do you take photos while multi rotor drone was flying along walls or only from sky (images in nadir position)?

James

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 732
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2013, 11:48:31 AM »
Looks really good!

Did you have it set on a fixed focus and exposure etc, or was that all manipulated during the flight?

I recently did a large building using one of these lifts http://bit.ly/1e7MRsS which was great in that i could easily control the camera settings throughout the process, but the downside was it took a week to get around the whole building and so the light was impossible to keep consistent.

Huge amount of postprocessing, and those lifts aren't cheap either. We are looking at beginning to use UAVs for future projects now!

aphextwin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2013, 12:38:15 PM »
Exposure / focus etc can and should be fixed. That's another reason why I use this camera. You don?t have to 'configure' some strange chdk-settings that do work (or sometimes not).

jerry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2013, 05:47:38 PM »
very nice,

do you have any other examples?
mich w?rde interessieren ob man die kameras auch synchronisieren kann, also 2 oder 3 gliechzeitig ausl?sen, wei?t du das?

gru?
jerry

bisenberger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
    • Digital Mapping & Graphics
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2013, 06:21:39 PM »
Nice work and animation!
Digital Mapping & Graphics LLC
https://digital-mapping.net/

sastun1962

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2013, 03:20:08 PM »
Great work!

aphextwin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: TOP cam for low-altitude UAV
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2013, 09:16:58 PM »
very nice,

do you have any other examples?
mich w?rde interessieren ob man die kameras auch synchronisieren kann, also 2 oder 3 gliechzeitig ausl?sen, wei?t du das?

gru?
jerry

Hi,
your question is:
Is it possible to synch multiple of these cameras?

The answer is: yes, but...

This camera is not hijacked like chdk. With chdk (and SPM) you're able to synch multi cameras at a very small period of time. This is not possible with the ricoh, BUT of course you can combine multi cable shutter releases for this camera and they will all shutter at the same time. But just not as synchronized as the CHDK/Canons do.