Forum

Author Topic: 3D model won't appear in Agisoft Viewer  (Read 1076 times)

Aerial Drone System

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
3D model won't appear in Agisoft Viewer
« on: March 14, 2022, 06:20:07 PM »
Hi.

When I try to import my .obj model, which uses a WGS84 coordinate system, in Agisoft Viewer, nothing appears, even though it says it finished importing it correctly.
When I double-click on my model to redirect the view to the model, it doesn't move at all.

I tried to do another .obj export which uses a local coordinate system this time but the same thing occurs.

Could you tell me if the problem comes from the software or if it comes from our project?
If you need more informations, feel free to ask me.



Best regards.


Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13916
    • View Profile
Re: 3D model won't appear in Agisoft Viewer
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2022, 06:39:58 PM »
Hello!

What happens if you create a new empty slide in Agisoft Viewer and import the same OBJ to it? Would it be displayed properly (though without the basemap layer)?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Aerial Drone System

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: 3D model won't appear in Agisoft Viewer
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2022, 07:03:17 PM »


Ok so it does appear now... but it's just a straight line.
I had this problem before when I was exporting models with the WGS84 coordinate system. So I always had to switch to the local coordinate system, which is really unfortunate.

Do you know a fix for this?

Aerial Drone System

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: 3D model won't appear in Agisoft Viewer
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2022, 03:46:15 PM »
Hi.

Here are the news.
I did another .obj export but this time, I have chosen the projected coordinate system (WGS84 / UTM zone 31N) instead of a geographic coordinate system (WGS84).
I successfully managed to import it into Agisoft Viewer.



But, the problem is still the same: the model won't come on top of my orthomosaic, where it's supposed to be. It seems like both are in two differents spaces for some reason.
However i'm really sure i didn't choose the wrong coordinate system this time.

I'm starting to lose hope, please could you help me? :(

EDIT : OK FIXED, I JUST EXPORTED A TILED MODEL INSTEAD AND NOW EVERYTHING WORKS PERFECTLY, HURRAY!!
« Last Edit: March 15, 2022, 05:15:36 PM by Aerial Drone System »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13916
    • View Profile
Re: 3D model won't appear in Agisoft Viewer
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2022, 05:28:45 PM »
Hello!

Regular mesh models do not contain information about the coordinate system used, so it is problematic to use them on top over the georeferenced layers. So your workaround with the tiled model seems to be adequate for your needs.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC