Forum

Author Topic: How to get started with capturing face  (Read 6564 times)

Buddhi

• View Profile
How to get started with capturing face
« on: August 11, 2013, 03:39:53 PM »

Hi All,

I am really new to this, but I got lot of experience in 3D modelling and motion capturing.
if you guys like to see my works https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=vb.480212378664557&type=2

I really like to get start, could you please help me guys,
I really like to capture fullbody but I know it requires around 50 cameras, am I right?
it is bit more expensive right now, That would be my ultimate goal,

how I can get started at least capturing face,
how many cameras? what is the best cameras?
do I need any other software and hardware to kick start.

looking forward to hear from you guys,

Cheers _ Buddhi

Magnus

• View Profile
Re: How to get started with capturing face
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2013, 02:37:29 AM »
Hello!

I think that a good way to go would be to start with some Canon 600Ds (check the thread "Most reasonable DSLR for multi-cam face capture setup") and to experiment with different camera setups.
I started with few cameras and tried different positions and distances and added more as time went by, this was a great learning experience.
If you want a quick start and are aiming for pro results then it might be a good idea to get some consultation from Lee of Infinite-Realities.

I currently use 14 or 16 cameras in my facerig (8 Nikon D3200 and 6 or 8 Canon 1100D) and they are set up in stereo-pairs (this works great for my needs). I will most likely switch them out to my other rigs as I add more cameras. This is just for capturing face though, not a full head.