Forum

Author Topic: workflow for marker based close range photogrammetry  (Read 1591 times)

dejhost

• View Profile
workflow for marker based close range photogrammetry
« on: September 27, 2022, 11:27:31 AM »
Hi.
I am relatively new to metashape, and I am trying to figure out a workflow for my historic close-range photogrammetry projects.

In my current sample project, I have 513 images, which cover a distance of about 70m. Each image shows a relatively high amount of coded targets, since I have deployed 1413 targets along the 70m.

Now I'd like to perform a bundle-adjustment based on these targets. I understand that it is not possible to fully exclude Tie Points, but following these instructions https://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=14319.msg62976#msg62976, this is what I've done so far:
  • Imported images
  • Run alignment
  • Detect coded markers
  • Removed faulty markers manually (graphically in the model and using workspace by removing pointnumbers that weren't deployed)
  • Run optimizeCameras
  • set Marker accuracy to 0.2 pix and Tie point accuracy to 1+ pix

The attatchment show what a typical image and the model looks like at the current state.

My question is now, how to proceed?
  • I have a set of 3D-points (real workld coordinates) that may be used for a camera calibration
  • I have a list of known 3D-distances (also called "constraints" or "scale bars"), which I'd like to import. I know the manual way of creating scalebars in meatashape, but I wonder if I can just import the list, in order to speed up the process

Could please instruct me?
Thank you.

Paulo

• View Profile
Re: workflow for marker based close range photogrammetry
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2022, 06:52:54 PM »
Hello dejhost,

if you have known 3d points in your model, then definitely use them as GCPs in your optimization and it will improve the absolute georeference as well as camera calibration. How are your photos referenced (with GNSS or ....)?