Forum

Author Topic: How can I align pictures to the scanning person only? (not to the room)  (Read 706 times)

Alexx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Hello,
I am scanning a person on a turntable:

The person is slightly shaking (backwards, forwards as people do with closed eyes, but is never changing the pose) .
But the cameras were unfortunately aligned in Metashape firmly to the room instead trying to match the shots of the person as good as possible.
It should in this case align only to the subject (person), even when it's slightly shaking.

Imagine I would have tracking markers on the person and would want everything only to be aligned to those tracking markers. How to solve this?

Thanks

Kiesel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
Hi Alexx,

for turntable case one can tick the option 'Exclude stationary tie points' in 'Align Photos' dialog. The camera and the background have to be stationary for that.

The tutorial by Agisoft for turntable workflow might help too:
https://agisoft.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/31000163268-turntable-capturing-scenario-and-processing-workflow


Best regards

Kiesel
« Last Edit: October 17, 2022, 12:16:09 PM by Kiesel »

Alexx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
But if the object on the turntable is not steadily while rotating, then this doesn't help...
Or does it?

Kiesel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
It ignores the steady background feature points of the room , so it should help as long as the relation between camera and background is not changing.

It probably helps to add a photo of the background only (the empty room).
« Last Edit: October 19, 2022, 08:10:26 AM by Kiesel »

Alexx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Is it possible to use 2 different camera types stationary (but each different in lens, resolution, type) for shots from 2 different angles at the same time and combine them both later to one chunk?
Thanks
« Last Edit: October 18, 2022, 12:51:00 PM by Alexx »

Kiesel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
Yes it is possible to use different cameras/lenses and it is practice in full body scanners to mix 2 or more sorts of cameras. Metashape can handle that by automatic camera grouping in one chunk, so no need to work with multiple chunks.