Forum

Author Topic: How do I set a distance between two markers?  (Read 10066 times)

marlin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
How do I set a distance between two markers?
« on: September 20, 2013, 12:46:15 AM »
hi All,

basic question.

I have created two Markers. (point 1 and point 2)

I can easily create the Scale Bar, but, How do I input the distance between the two?

thank you!
Marlin.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14760
    • View Profile
Re: How do I set a distance between two markers?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2013, 11:13:19 AM »
Hello Marlin,

To set up the distance for scale bar you need to use Ground Control pane (Source tab).
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

svenah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: How do I set a distance between two markers?
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2013, 02:37:25 PM »
Hi

Being used to the old version with a measuring tool and a tool for setting the scale I am still lost how to set the scale in the new version. Where in the ground controle do I set the scale?

Best wishes

Sven

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14760
    • View Profile
Re: How do I set a distance between two markers?
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2013, 02:51:45 PM »
Hello Sven,

To add a scale bar in the 1.0.0 you need to select two markers first (either in Workspace pane or in Model view), right-click and then select Create Scale Bar option in the context menu.

Ground Control pane should be enabled in the View menu. Actually it's the pane where coordinates of cameras and markers are usually defined.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

svenah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: How do I set a distance between two markers?
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2013, 04:32:09 PM »
Thank you! I got it. Now how do i measure the distance between two other points?

Sven

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14760
    • View Profile
Re: How do I set a distance between two markers?
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2013, 05:18:01 PM »
Hello Sven,

You should leave the corresponding scale bar unchecked in the Ground Control pane and switch to the Estimated tab. But please do not forget to click Update button to apply all the changes in the pane.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

svenah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: How do I set a distance between two markers?
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2013, 06:51:22 PM »
Hello Alex

I see now that it is all very well desrcibed in the new manual. I am sorry for taking so much of your time. Now that I understand the new sytem I must say that the scale bars are a great new tool!

marlin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: How do I set a distance between two markers?
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2013, 08:50:38 PM »
Dear Alexey & Svenah,


@Alexey,
Thank you VERY much for your replies. THis is useful information.

Can you please tell me where exactly is the "Estimated tab" and the "Update button to apply all the changes in the pane"?

@Svenah
Can you please direct me to the new-est 1.0.0 PhotoScan User Manual?

Thank you for your time and help.

Marlin.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14760
    • View Profile
Re: How do I set a distance between two markers?
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2013, 10:39:02 PM »
Hello Marlin,

Estimated tab switch and Update button both are on the Ground Control pane toolbar.

PhotoScan 1.0.0 manual is not yet available, but scale bar measurements are described in 0.9.1 Manual (the only difference is in method of scale bar creation).
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC