Forum

Author Topic: Build Texture - Major errors  (Read 8179 times)

marlin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Build Texture - Major errors
« on: September 20, 2013, 12:24:10 AM »
Dear All,

I'm using PhotoScan Pro Ver 1.0.0 on a study object, (a neolithic stone tool) and everything seems to be OK with my model until I build the Texture.

Import photos, mask photos, align images, build dense cloud, build geometry processes all seem to be OK. All my settings are in pretty much in the 'default' setting.

However, when I "Build Texture", it produces the following results. (Please see screen shots). The error also 'animates' when I move my mouse over the object --- it appears to shoot out rays of color and pixels.

I've tried both 'Mosaic' and 'Average' settings when prompted.

ANY suggestions would be appreciated. (this error has occured numerous times on this object and on different objects, as well as different machines)

background info.
PhotoScan Pro version 1.0.0 build 1742 (64bit)
Mac OS 10.6.8
4GB of RAM 1067 MHz DDR3
images are shot in RAW and exported to full size jpegs previous to 'add photos'
masks are generated from within Photoscan using the photoscan tools

thanks for any help.
Marlin.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13811
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture - Major errors
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2013, 11:39:43 AM »
Hello Marlin,

Could you please send us any sample project with few images where the problem exists to support@agisoft.ru.

Please also specify the graphic card used and the texturing parameters.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Build Texture - Major errors
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2013, 12:42:53 PM »
 The error also 'animates' when I move my mouse over the object --- it appears to shoot out rays of color and pixels. = seems to be a driver error, can specify on what other systems it was viewed ( GPU and OS type+ version )
----------------
www.mhb.sk

marlin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture - Major errors
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2013, 07:49:28 PM »
Dear Wishgranter and Alexey,

thank you for the reply. I will attempt to convey my experience by emailing you at the supportagisoft.ru email address.

thank you.
Marlin.

Galiber

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture - Major errors
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2013, 11:46:25 AM »
I have seen this same problem when I try to build texture above 16k.
I am using an iMac (i7 3.4, 32 Gb RAM, and NVidia GTX 680 2Gb with 10.8.4.)
Do you have any idea about this?
Thanks.

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Build Texture - Major errors
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2013, 12:28:10 PM »
hmm as you write 16k + texture AND 680with 2GB RAM then its highly possible that it copies the texture to RAM of the  CPU, and drivers cannot handle it properly.... try create more than ONE UVs...... personally have tested 32k but with 3GB 7970 GPU and windows...... if need assistance senme project files and can create it for you..... but think more UVs are beter solution, it place better islands onUV. but still try and error......
----------------
www.mhb.sk

blackgul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture - Major errors
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2013, 12:28:19 PM »
I have seen this same problem when I try to build texture above 16k.
I am using an iMac (i7 3.4, 32 Gb RAM, and NVidia GTX 680 2Gb with 10.8.4.)
Do you have any idea about this?
GuL

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Build Texture - Major errors
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2013, 09:34:00 PM »
can export the texture and its OK ? so just viewing in pscan its problematic ?
----------------
www.mhb.sk

David Cockey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture - Major errors
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2013, 03:53:21 PM »
I had a somewhat similar problem with texture in 1.0.0. With help from Alexey the problem was found to be that the mesh was built using Interpolation Disabled. Rebuilding the mesh with Interpolation Enabled solved the problem when texture was rebuilt.