Forum

Author Topic: How to enter scale bar between markers automatically  (Read 1482 times)

raed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
How to enter scale bar between markers automatically
« on: August 07, 2023, 06:55:09 PM »
Hello, everyone
I'm happy about my first post. I hope this post will make it more convenient for me to use MetaShape.
First of all, my poor English skills may make you uncomfortable to read. Please understand that I am writing with the translation function.

I'm using the MetaShape Pro, and I've been creating about 3,000 3D models for small objects in a year. This requires three scale inputs per object to reflect the actual size, which is very difficult to manually input each time.
Of course, I work by attaching a marker pallet to the turntable (palette is using the file provided by the YouTube video on this link ' https://youtu.be/lp5eIOUJxCE '), so it is very helpful to automatically detect the marker, but the following is my concern.
As you can see, the marker palette is numbered for each marker. I'm using this marker pallet every time I film everything, and I've checked that the marker is automatically detected and the marker's number is also automatically given as real.
Therefore, I would like to know how to automatically enter the distance of three or more marker pairs by specifying the marker at the edge in the marker pallet.
Also, I would like to be able to automatically enter the distance between markers for all chunks in the project file if possible.
If this is possible, my work will be cut in half, and it will be very diverse and possible to do a lot of work. I'm looking forward to seeing you help me. ;D ;D

Kiesel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
Re: How to enter scale bar between markers automatically
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2023, 09:12:32 PM »
Hallo raed,

you can try to import the measured/calculated coordinates of the coded targets and then hit the update button. When you use a high accuracy for them (1 mm) you don't need to define scale bars.

Best regards,

Kiesel

raed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: How to enter scale bar between markers automatically
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2023, 05:07:41 AM »
Hallo raed,

you can try to import the measured/calculated coordinates of the coded targets and then hit the update button. When you use a high accuracy for them (1 mm) you don't need to define scale bars.

Best regards,

Kiesel

Hello kiesel, thank you for your reply.
Are you talking about the import reference function?
Can you explain it in detail?
I've tried many times, but if I make a file and import it, nothing changes.
My targets exist from number 1 to 26, and the distance between targets is as below.
Target 1 - Target 7: 0.096m
Target 6 - Target 12: 0.096 m
Target 14 - Target 15: 0.096 m
Target 24 - Target 25: 0.096 m

I'm sorry to ask, but it would be a great help if you could make a simple example file!

Kiesel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
Re: How to enter scale bar between markers automatically
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2023, 05:57:05 PM »
Hi raed,

first, unfortunately, I don't have any longer access to the Pro version.

But in general, it should work if you have calculated the coordinates for the markers in one project, export them, detect markers in your actual project, and import marker positions.

Btw. I would suggest measuring the distances between markers 16 and 26, 1 and 16, and 1 and 26 for higher accuracy. Then you can give marker 16 a positive coordinate, like 20;30. For marker 26 you get for its x-coordinate 20 + the distance between 21 and 26. For the y-coordinate, you can take the same as for marker 21 (30; horizontal baseline).
The coordinates for marker 1 can then be calculated by the cosine sentence.

Best regards,

Kiesel

This may help you: https://agisoft.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/31000148855-coded-targets-and-scale-bars
« Last Edit: August 14, 2023, 07:42:38 PM by Kiesel »