Forum

Author Topic: Build Texture artifacts  (Read 9287 times)

Triplegangers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • Triplegangers
Build Texture artifacts
« on: October 04, 2013, 03:55:01 PM »
I'm receiving strange artifacts on all my textures, see attached screenshots.

Keep seeing it using both Mosaic and Average "Build Texture" settings.

Version 1.0.0 Build 1745 (64 bit)

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2013, 05:28:28 PM »
How much images are there ? can post just mesh detail on same spot ?
----------------
www.mhb.sk

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2013, 06:09:32 PM »
Hello Alexander,

Thank you for reporting.

We need to analyze this problem, probably you can provide some small dataset where the problem is reproducible and obvious.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Triplegangers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • Triplegangers
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2013, 06:30:03 PM »
I was not sure what it is, as it could've been a problem with my PC, faulty memory or else. But now I'm confident its a PS bug.

I tried to dig deeper into this problem, as it became a royal pain. As those dirty pixels are not always on the same places and jump around from build to build. I process one texture a few times and then clean it up in Photoshop

So I removed half of of my memory, and still had it. Then tried different memory configurations. As I have 8 DDR3 slots and 8x8GB memory units here. One of which could've been faulty (although memory tests say its ok). Kept getting it no matter what I did, and it was clear its not a memory problem. Although I do get very dirty textures on my Xeon workstation. On other computers, not so much, but still can see some areas are dirty.

Please download test scene here. It might be hard to find those pixels sometimes, but I'm sure some are always there.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/aviptlvu4n25eut/Dirty_pixels_test_scene.zip

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2013, 08:09:59 PM »
Hello Alexander,

Thank you for sharing the dataset, we'll check it.

Could you please also send a texture export result with the pixels, or at least a downscaled screeshot with the highlighed problematic zones.
And please post the texture generation parameters.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2013, 08:28:20 PM by Alexey Pasumansky »
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Triplegangers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • Triplegangers
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2013, 08:36:03 PM »
Hello Alexey,

Thank you for quick reply. Please download texture here. I started to see the pattern, lower part of the texture is usually clean, its most likely to happen in the top middle part. If you get closer in Photoshop, you can see it pretty much all over the forehead of that guy.

Really hope you can replicate it. Sometimes it comes out really clean. Probably depends on PC specs a lot. So if you can test it on something that is different from i7 processor based PC, would be cool. As we know there's a huge difference in PhotoScan performance on different platforms and high end PC configurations.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jj6q2zgdygwfsrw/Texture_with_dirty_pixels.zip

Thank you!

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2013, 08:38:35 PM »
Hello Alexander,

Thanks for the textures.

We'll check the processing results on different computer configurations and OS.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2013, 12:18:46 AM »
how much cams are you using for the capture ? try disable ALL for texture generation and enable one by one and see the difference. have seen something similar too on few of our fullbody scans... but hard to say precisely what it cause....... seems that ate least one or eventualy more images are not sharp enought and it cause that they are mismatch inisde the algo what sort the sharpest parts of image.... can share the dataset - images ? wil try find the dataset where im get something similar.....

p.s. try use AVERANGE for texture generation what it do.....
----------------
www.mhb.sk

Triplegangers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • Triplegangers
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2013, 12:31:18 AM »
And please post the texture generation parameters.

Parameters attached.

Thanks Wishgranter, I will test your ideas.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2013, 02:22:47 AM »
Hello Alexander,

Thanks for that. The fix will be included in the next update, I hope that the problem will be completely removed.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Triplegangers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • Triplegangers
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2013, 04:09:25 PM »
Amazing! Will wait  ;D
Thank you!

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2013, 05:14:27 PM »
Hello Alexander,

We've updated 1.0.0 to build 1768, please check if this issue is resolved now on you sample projects.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Triplegangers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • Triplegangers
Re: Build Texture artifacts
« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2013, 05:24:35 PM »
Amazing, yes its gone now. Thank you Alexey!