Forum

Author Topic: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(  (Read 6182 times)

cabecinhas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« on: October 15, 2013, 03:31:26 PM »
Hi. I don't know what am I doing wrong.

When creating a orthomosaic in AgisoftPhotoScan, after build geometry the result (before export) seems to me ok, but after exporting the orthomosaic the result gets really bad.

could anyone help me on that?

Thank you very much

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14965
    • View Profile
Re: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 03:36:09 PM »
Hello cabecinhas,

Looks like you are exporting the orthophoto in the planar projection, or the model is not referenced correctly.


Please note that for correct georeferencing you need to use at least three points (camera positions and/or GCPs) that do not lay on the same line.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

cabecinhas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2013, 03:40:02 PM »
Hi, Alexey.

I did export in Geographic mode :(

All my photos are referenced. As you could see in the model panel they look good(the probme is when exporting).

Actually I don't have any GCPs since I'm using only 3 photos on this project.

Could you give me any idea?

Tks
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 03:49:06 PM by cabecinhas »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14965
    • View Profile
Re: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2013, 03:50:23 PM »
Hello cabecinhas,

If all three photos are from the same flight line then there is a rotational degree of freedom around this line. If you have overlapping images from another flight line I recommend to add them into your test project and process them together with the current images.

Alternative way (for testing purposes only, since it is very inaccurate) is to place GCP in the center of the middle image and assign the same X, Y coordinates that were used for corresponding camera center, and Z as (camera Z - flying altitude), then press Update button. In this case Z-axis should be looking upward relatively to the model in the Model view.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

cabecinhas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2013, 03:58:41 PM »
Yes.. the photos were taken in the same flight. What do  you mean by rotational degre?



Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14965
    • View Profile
Re: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2013, 04:03:41 PM »
I meant that you can not reference the model correctly using only three points laying on the same line.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

cabecinhas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2013, 04:11:13 PM »
So It is mandatory to creage GCPs?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14965
    • View Profile
Re: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2013, 04:14:20 PM »
No, if you have at least two line flight or non-linear single flight line.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

cabecinhas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2013, 04:17:05 PM »
ok..

Well I have 3 geotagged line pictures with about 70% of overlapping

I'm sorry to be here and ask this much things..

pvandyke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: WHEN IN THE PROGRAM IS OK, BUT WHEN EXPORT ORTHOMOSAIC :(
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2013, 08:04:23 PM »
cabecinhas,

The GCP will help tell PhotoScan which direction is horizontal in your model.  It may not be the most accurate, but you could try using Google Earth to get X,Y,Z values for the ground control.

Once the horizontal (X,Y) is figured out, exporting your orthomosaic should give you the results that you desire.

I've been using this method (along with current imagery from our GIS system) to orthomosaic old B&W air photography from the early 50's.