Forum

Author Topic: Getting section cuts from the models  (Read 3215 times)

MichaelW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Getting section cuts from the models
« on: November 01, 2013, 09:05:04 PM »
Hi,

I have read some of the previous threads that have all suggested Rhino3D as well as CAD-based solutions.

I want to know if anyone has more suggestions or perhaps steps for us to optimize the models in order to prevent the lag caused by a huge amount of information from the triangles...thank you!

Best,

Michael

hengefjes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Getting section cuts from the models
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 11:01:04 PM »
You can always decimate the model in PS, and still keep a lot of detail.

David Cockey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 209
    • View Profile
Re: Getting section cuts from the models
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2013, 01:48:51 AM »
I use Rhino to create digital models of boats based on point clouds and meshes from PhotoScan. I import the mesh and/point cloud into a Rhino model and save it as a Rhino .3dm file. I do the Rhino work in a separate .3dm file. I use "Worksession" in rhino to "attach" the .3dm files with the needed meshes/point clouds so they can be used as references without adding to the size of the file with the modeling data.

Sufficient memory is needed so that Rhino does not start swapping data between memory and disk. How much memory depends on the number and size of the meshes/point clouds. I usually use meshes rather than point clouds.