Forum

Author Topic: Scanning objects fully without any occlusions  (Read 4080 times)

calidos

• View Profile
Scanning objects fully without any occlusions
« on: December 21, 2013, 03:29:03 PM »
Hi all,
This is my first project in Photogrammetry, and I'm an absolute beginner so apologies if it's a trivial question.

I am working to define a strategy to capture all the pieces of a broken sculpture (around 100 fragments) which can be seen here http://www.calidos.cat/fotogrametria/crbmc/jacent_m.jpg
each piece must be completely defined as part of restoration documentation.

Now to, prepare workflow, I did a set with a turntable, on a white or green background and 4 light softboxes. If I set a fragment on the turn table I obviously have a lot of occlusion so I made a wooden support (10x10x10cm) and 4 small metal cylinders to prop up the piece a bit higher.
After some testing I have obtained some reasonable results (using 40 photos in three different levels)
http://www.calidos.cat/fotogrametria/crbmc/test.jpg

However, there are still some undesirable artifacts such as tiny shadows and the 4 holes. I'm trying to optimise this method and I would love to know if anyone has any ideas of how to do this in a more efficient or accurate manner. For instance, would there be a way to turn the piece around and process it in the same project?

Thanks in advance,

Josep
calidos.cat

FoodMan

• View Profile
Re: Scanning objects fully without any occlusions
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2013, 06:56:44 PM »
a few advices ..

_ use a green background, it will be easier to make an alpha
_ no need of support.. do a full turnaround, then turn the piece to scan upside down, and do another turnaround, this will limit the occluded parts. so around 80 photos per piece.