Forum

Author Topic: Build mesh causes Macbook Pro screen to flicker?  (Read 3610 times)

jguyton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Build mesh causes Macbook Pro screen to flicker?
« on: January 20, 2014, 09:15:53 AM »
Hi all, I have a rather large project (~350 photos), and when I try to "build mesh" my new Macbook Pro (2013, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 8gb 1600 MHz DDR3, running Mavericks 10.9.1) freezes and the screen flickers alarmingly. Once, the entire screen went into stripes and color blocks.

I ran a hardware check and everything appears to be fine. Can anyone suggest any other solutions?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: Build mesh causes Macbook Pro screen to flicker?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2014, 11:33:57 AM »
Hello jguyton,

Could you please provide the following information:
- PhotoScan version and build used,
- graphic card installed on your computer,
- number of polygons in the output model,
- if there are any error messages in the Console Pane?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

jguyton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Build mesh causes Macbook Pro screen to flicker?
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2014, 10:13:01 PM »
Hi Alexey,

-PhotoScan Pro version 1.0.0 build 1795 (64 bit)
-Intel HD Graphics 4000 1024 MB
-I'm new to Photoscan -- how do I see number of polygons?
-The console pane resets when my computer freezes and I have to force restart it, so I'm not sure I would see an error message!

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: Build mesh causes Macbook Pro screen to flicker?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2014, 02:04:26 PM »
Hello jguyton,

Number of polygons is defined in the Build Mesh dialog prior to processing start.

I assume that the problem is caused by graphic adapter struggling with huge amount of faces. I can recommend to turn of automatic switching to model view in Advanced tab of PhotoScan preferences, so you'll be able to save the project without mesh visualization.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC