Forum

Author Topic: Pause/Save/Resume Later  (Read 7869 times)

FoodMan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 477
    • View Profile
Pause/Save/Resume Later
« on: August 22, 2011, 01:52:09 PM »
yep like Title says.. that would be nice  ;)

F/

IanJohnson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Pause/Save/Resume Later
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2011, 07:02:47 AM »
 There is a pause, but it doesn't let you save, quit and come back.  Also, it doesn't even seem to let go of the CPU and Memory, or if it does, it takes to long to be useful.  When I pause, I want to get my CPU back to do other things.

It may be similar to cancel.  I used to think cancel didn't work, but now I think you just have to go away for 30 minutes and hope it is done canceling when you come back.

Raph4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Pause render and save state for later
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2015, 06:18:36 AM »
Hello,

I suggest this option if it's really possible:
Pause render, and backup/save state for later.

For example if you need restart or shutdown computer.
Is it possible to add this feature ?

thanks

mzaa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Pause/Save/Resume Later
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 07:22:35 PM »
up!

Thibaud Capra

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Master Student in Geodetic Engineering & Surveying
    • View Profile
    • INSA de Strasbourg, Topography Engineering (French)
Re: Pause/Save/Resume Later
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2017, 10:58:15 AM »
That's a tough feature to add in my opinion. That'd mean that processes would be split in parts and compensation algorithms are hardly splittable.

As for now, if you're dealing with everlasting calculations, and you sometimes have to shut down / restart / do other things with your computer, try dividing your work in smaller chunks!
On the other hand, the Pause button is usually working wonders for me. Instant pause and I can use the whole power from my computer. Resuming my take a few seconds to get back to the right timestamp but I have absolutely no problem doing it, whether on my personnal computer (i7-6700K / GTX 1060 / 16 Gb RAM) or my work computer (2x Xeon E3 / Quadro M4000 / 64 Gb RAM).
Best regards.
--
Thibaud CAPRA
Master Student in Geodetic Engineering, Cartography & Surveying
Master Thesis in Automated Processing of UAV-based Photogrammetric Data (ResearchGate Link)
INSA de Strasbourg, FRANCE
--

relaxman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Pause/Save/Resume Later
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2017, 10:56:36 PM »
why not use low priority or affinity cpu cores?