Forum

Author Topic: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!  (Read 10172 times)

MINE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« on: May 28, 2014, 10:36:07 AM »
Hello,

I have a problem with the seamlines in my mosaic.

In the resulting mosaic based on the ground points some of the seamlines are placed such that there are small areas from neighbouring images. See the edge of the roof in the attachment: there are some small areas of pavement and some small areas of roof from the different photos in between each other.

Is there any way to fix this?
Is there any way to control where the seamlines are placed?
Can you set a minimum size for each area for each photo in the mosaic?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13990
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2014, 01:56:38 PM »
Hello MINE,

Could you post the screenshot of the Chunk Info dialog with the processing parameters used and also solid view of the model in PhotoScan project window.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

MINE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2014, 02:15:51 PM »
Hi Alexey,

This is a screen shot of the project showing the dense point cloud.

Note that I only processed a small area of the project, i.e. there aren't 712 covering this tiny area ;-)

MINE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2014, 02:16:36 PM »
This is the corresponding mesh.

Note that it is made from the ground points only.

Porly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2014, 02:27:49 PM »
Hello,

where is the roof of the house in the mesh?? Without the roof it is quite clear why the result of the orthophoto is like it is.

You can control the seamlines indirectly by masking the photoinformation that you dont need in each picture. So the algorhitm will not use masked areas for orthophoto construction.

BR

Paul

MINE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2014, 02:41:03 PM »
Hey Paul,

The roof is missing in the mesh, because the mesh is based on the ground points only, as marked in brown in the following image. When the orthophoto is made, the pixels in the images are projected to the ground.

I would like to avoid masking each individual photo, since there are 712 photos in the project, and I have to make 4 more projects of the same size, so it would take too long.

MINE

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13990
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2014, 02:52:14 PM »
Hello MINE,

Seam line editing is not supported in the actual version of PhotoScan, so you need either to use masks as suggested, or completely disable images with high roll/pitch angles prior to orthophoto export.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

MINE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2014, 03:53:07 PM »
Is it possible to set a minimum size to the aeras of each photo in the mosaic so you can prevent these little spots of different objects?

Porly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2014, 04:05:37 PM »
Hello MINE,

1. Use the entire pointcloud (including the roof) for mesh building

2. I would recommend you to decimate the mesh to a little amount of triangles (DECIMATE MESH). A mesh of for example 20 mio triangles you can decimate to 500.000. The simplified model causes that noisy edges or (other sharp regions) become straight. Play aorund with the decimating tool and you will see that the result will be better.

We are all waiting for manual seamline editing, maybe someday it will be possibile in Photoscan... But for now it is a little tricky to handle this problem (masks)

Helimax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2014, 12:33:26 PM »
Hello MINE,

Seam line editing is not supported in the actual version of PhotoScan, so you need either to use masks as suggested, or completely disable images with high roll/pitch angles prior to orthophoto export.

Can we hoped this feature in a future version ?  :) :) :)

BR
Max

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13990
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2014, 02:01:44 PM »
Hello Max,

In future - yes, but definitely not in 1.1 version.

Anyone can support this feature: http://www.agisoft.ru/forum/index.php?topic=1777.0 (however, your post is already there, Max). We're paying much attention to all requests, even some of the topics remain unreplied.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

nadar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2014, 05:02:35 PM »
an intersting solution should be to allow exporting each orthorectified image separately, to allow for an interactive placement of seamlines and/or progressive blending (e.g. in Photoshop)

StevenF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with orthophoto seamlines!!
« Reply #12 on: September 25, 2014, 04:44:30 PM »
Hi Nadar, You can already do this by disabling all but one camera and then using export orthophoto. This process can be automated with the python api.