Forum

Author Topic: Unable Align  (Read 8211 times)

xiu2014

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Unable Align
« on: June 12, 2014, 10:41:43 AM »
Can not be aligned, all together.
Camera settings: d7000    Aperture f16    ISO-100  Shutter Speed 1/100
The use of external flash lights.

« Last Edit: June 12, 2014, 10:45:34 AM by xiu2014 »

xiu2014

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
« Last Edit: June 12, 2014, 12:24:58 PM by xiu2014 »

James

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 748
    • View Profile
Re: Unable Align
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2014, 02:05:32 PM »
You need to mask the background if you are using a turntable (as per your box dataset which i have not attempted to process, but had a quick look).

Photoscan can do this automatically if you take one additional shot without the subject on the turntable, and then import mask from background for the active chunk.

voudas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Unable Align
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2014, 04:51:27 PM »
can u explain why this is needed? the background is almost white without any information.why cant PS use only the box data? if there was a pattern instead of plain white, would it be better or worse? in in case of the same white background, wouldnt there be the same problem even without the turntable?

ty



James

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 748
    • View Profile
Re: Unable Align
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2014, 05:18:02 PM »
Looking at image 3 it seems that photoscan has detected more points on the white background than it did on the subject, maybe due to actively increasing the contrast in that area in an attempt to find some points there(?).

Whether it was dirt on the background or noise in the data it looks like it found something.

Then those random meaningless 'white' points completely outnumber the useful points on the subject making it difficult to resolve which points match with what and it probably just gave up.

Or maybe the white points are so easily matched with other white points that it forgets about the 'difficult' useful points which are fewer in number anyway and just comes up with garbage.

Anyway it's like a golden rule that you have to mask your background if you use a turntable, and if your background is white (or you have alot of sky etc in your shots) it's a good idea to mask that too whether using a turntable or not.

xiu2014

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Unable Align
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2014, 03:42:08 AM »
Thanks

xiu2014

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Unable Align
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2014, 03:53:53 AM »
Confused

Marcel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
    • View Profile
Re: Unable Align
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2014, 02:59:01 PM »
That's the points Photoscan was able to detect. So it seems your mask is not working.


celerius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Unable Align
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2014, 08:08:45 PM »
Added contrast and sharpened in Lightroom, then masked out the background in Photoshop. Top and bottom of the toolbox isn't there because your photos only has the sides.

Masking
http://www.agisoft.ru/tutorials/photoscan/07/ under "Mask Photos"

xiu2014

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Unable Align
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2014, 05:15:24 AM »
celerius 
thank you
Shielding background I have tried, can work normally.
Before I tried other objects, without shielding background can also realize the reconstruction, the effect is very good.For object shielding background simple easily, if encounter complex objects, such as the background is also very confusing, so it is not easy to do.