Forum

Author Topic: easy scan  (Read 9976 times)

aliensa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
easy scan
« on: October 08, 2011, 10:58:00 PM »
Hi
Is there a way to scan a model but not to walk around it and take a pictures  .Just put the camera on tripod and turn only the model ?   

like 3dsom , 
« Last Edit: October 08, 2011, 11:00:24 PM by aliensa »

gEEvEE

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2011, 01:08:04 AM »
Yes,

this works in PS. I tried it several times with good results. The computation will take longer than 3DSOM, but the 3D model will be way more detailed.

Regards,

Geert

aliensa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2011, 11:32:21 AM »
i just load the doll project from 3d som and it's not work with me , it make a flat plane not a 3d object ...

:(


what you do to make it 3d ?




FoodMan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 477
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2011, 12:24:58 PM »
hello...

you have to mask all your images if you use a turntable.... do it in Photoshop or similar.. make a mask, and save the images as tif files.. then load them in PS...

h/


aliensa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2011, 02:09:34 PM »
Thanks you  FoodMan , now i will try this  ,

just to ask you - i have to mask anything except the object ?   only the objec without the ground and ets..

for example :

http://www.3dsom.com/features/img/shrinkwrapafter.jpg


FoodMan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 477
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2011, 02:27:05 PM »
yes like this...  :)

(but be careful, that small duck is not really a perfect candidate, because it has very smooth yellow surface, PS likes busy textured objects better.. but worth a try..))

f/
« Last Edit: October 09, 2011, 02:29:06 PM by FoodMan »

aliensa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2011, 02:42:58 PM »
it does't work :( 

1. i make all pictures with alpha channel in  Photoshop  then i save it as TIF ,

2. in PS i open all images and  this is the result ..

http://img846.imageshack.us/img846/8181/doll00013.jpg

the strange thing is when i press align photos  the option constraint features by mask in no active ..like thereis no alpha channel ..

maybe i miss something ?   how i can be sure the PS use the alpha chanels ? is there an some option to show me alpha channels in PS ?

maybe there is an options for turntable ? 
« Last Edit: October 09, 2011, 02:51:27 PM by aliensa »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13211
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2011, 05:48:45 PM »
Hello aliensa,

If you have photos with alpha-channel you can apply it as mask using "Import mask..." command in Photo menu.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

aliensa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2011, 06:17:49 PM »
Thank you Alexey ,


just to ask you ,  if there a differences between  if i make a alpha in photoshop or if i make a mask in PS ?

here a example in Photoshop the alpha is more smooth , it will this effect on the creation quality of the model ?

http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/2034/maskg.jpg

i mean .. what is better - to make alpha in photoshop or just to make a mask in PS ?

sorry for my English ..
« Last Edit: October 09, 2011, 06:19:25 PM by aliensa »

aliensa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2011, 01:21:42 AM »
i got a awesome results this soft is the best of the best !!!!!!!!!!!


Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13211
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2011, 02:31:11 PM »
Hello aliensa,

The difference is only in the set of selection tools available. If you like Photoshop tools more you can use them and just import alpha-channel. Or, for example, if PhotoScan tools allows to minimize the time spent on masking you can use PhotoScan.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

IanJohnson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2011, 10:30:43 PM »
The Quick Select tool in Photoshop is very fast.  You mostly only need to swipe a little bit of the background and it will figure out where all the edges are.  You can use Actions to create a macro to turn the selection into an alpha channel, save, then close. 

When you shoot your object, try to make the background as plain as possible, and a color that is very different.  Something like a neon green poster board will make masking easy.   You don't need to mask the turntable, only the parts of the image that don't turn with the object.

When masking, make sure that feathering and anti-aliasing are turned off.  You want the edges to be as sharp as possible.  You don't want photoscan trying to work with pixels that have been altered in any way.

aliensa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: easy scan
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2011, 02:35:05 AM »
Thank you Alexey  and IanJohnson