Forum

Author Topic: Question - How to Place Model at Point of Origin?  (Read 20558 times)

tai_pinc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Question - How to Place Model at Point of Origin?
« on: August 03, 2014, 01:54:00 PM »
Hello

I'm looking for advice - using PhotoScan or any other software (meshlab?), what would be the easiest way to place a mesh at the point of origin (0, 0, 0)?

Exporting from Photoscan, the meshes always end-up at unexpected place.

Thanks

Tai

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Question - How to Place Model at Point of Origin?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2014, 11:20:15 PM »
you need change the CENTER of the model to the center of model, im doing that in 3DSMAX, should be possible do that in any other sw too....
----------------
www.mhb.sk

aphextwin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Question - How to Place Model at Point of Origin?
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2014, 12:33:56 AM »
I'm interested in this question, too.
I use zbrush to repair my meshes. One of the disadvantages is that I'm not able to center the object in zbrush because when I do this and re-import the mesh into pscan to rebuild textures, the mesh is not at it's origin anymore and turns black after the texturing-process. But working with zbrush without moving/scaling the mesh can be quite a pain. What about that?

Hybrid_75

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Question - How to Place Model at Point of Origin?
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2014, 02:48:26 AM »
why don't you export build the texture and export the model with the texture?

jpbrown

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Question - How to Place Model at Point of Origin?
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2014, 07:43:42 AM »
This should work:

- Make a copy of the original file in a new directory. If the file has external texture, make sure to copy the texture files across as well.

In MeshLab (can be downloaded from http://meshlab.sourceforge.net/).

- Open the copied in MeshLab (File > Import mesh...).

- From the Filters menu , select 'Normals, Curvatures and Orientation' > 'Transform: Move, Rotate, Center'

The 'Transform: Move, Rotate, Center' dialog pops up.

- In the dialog, check the checkboxes 'translate center of bbox to origin' and 'freeze matrix' (see attached image).

- Click the 'Apply' button.

Now you must save the changes. One of the many subtle bugs in MeshLab is that changes made in some file types are not actually written to disk when you use File > Export Mesh.  Therefore, it is safest to use

- File > Export Mesh As...

The File Save As... dialog pops up. The file type to save as will be set to PLY by default.  If this isn't what you want, change the file type to the the format you want to save (OBJ, or whatever).

- overwrite your /copied version/ of the original file.

The 'Choose Saving Options' dialog pops up.

- make sure to check the appropriate options in the 'Choose Saving Options' dialog

tai_pinc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Question - How to Place Model at Point of Origin?
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2014, 12:45:04 PM »
Hi jpbrowm,

Thanks! Thats works perfectly!

I main reason for my trouble was, that I want to do it for a point-cloud model (ply file).
I had trouble with other software in doing this.
This method works prefect.

Thanks a lot