Forum

Author Topic: Is it possible to form a tree model with Agisoft?  (Read 6879 times)

good0469

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Is it possible to form a tree model with Agisoft?
« on: August 11, 2014, 06:10:43 AM »
Hi All!

I would like to take a tree survey with photo matching by Agisoft..

However, the tree model created by Agisoft is not satisfactory...

Are there any solutions to enhance the tree model in agisoft..?

Also, does anyone have experience on generating tree model by using agisoft?

Thanks all :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
« Last Edit: August 12, 2014, 12:04:06 PM by good0469 »

Patribus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to form a tree model with Agisoft?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2014, 01:38:41 AM »
Hello, I'm actually doing reserach on this and I must say, modelling trees is far from beeing simple. I'll write a report in a few weeks, I can share it with you.

But, if someone has hints in this direction, I'm pleased to discuss the process of generating 3D realistic trees.

Best regards


PS: @good0469: Can you tell me for which purpose you're creating 3D trees? Thanks

good0469

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to form a tree model with Agisoft?
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2014, 05:17:52 AM »
Hello,

For my purpose on tree modelling, I would like to measure the position, DBH and tree height from the model.

However, the photo matching in agisoft was not satisfactory.  Therefore,  I am pleased to discuss the process of generating 3D realistic trees with u and study your report. :):)

emaxwell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to form a tree model with Agisoft?
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2014, 04:57:07 PM »
I would be interested in looking at this as well. the current product doesn't seem suited to this

Patribus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to form a tree model with Agisoft?
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2014, 09:05:12 PM »
Hello,

For my purpose on tree modelling, I would like to measure the position, DBH and tree height from the model.

However, the photo matching in agisoft was not satisfactory.  Therefore,  I am pleased to discuss the process of generating 3D realistic trees with u and study your report. :):)

I do not understand right, if you are doing aerial coverage of the forest oder creating a 3D model of a single tree. Because if the latter one is the case, than what do you mean with 'position'? DBH and tree height should not be a problem, assuming you are able to take photos from the from all sides (including above, not obvious for trees embeded in forests).

Here is the example of the second model I created (far from beeing a good exemple).  I did several (and more recent) tests, but they aren't available to be shown.

Can some of you show some examples?

Best regards

nadar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to form a tree model with Agisoft?
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2014, 01:54:54 PM »
A serious problem with photogrammetry (in general) of trees seems related to the fact that leaves and even branches are moving because of wind, and this generates "false parallaxes" that are interpreted as depth difference.
Same occurs with moving objects like cars and pedestrians on aerial photos.
If the movement is important, these objects will be probably neglected, but small displacement of leaves will generally generate wrong positions and hence produce a fuzzy 3D model.

The only solution I have for this is to avoid acquiring photos in windy conditions...

jtuhtan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to form a tree model with Agisoft?
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2014, 01:44:38 AM »
Hi,

The halo effect when modelling terrestrial imagery in SfM software can be reduced if you use a stereo rig. However, due to the slight motions of the leaves and branches sharp imagery is very difficult for objects as large as trees.

One possibility we are exploring is the use of high-speed cameras (200 FPS) and image preprocessing, but this is still very much in the research stage.

Best,

Jeff

Patribus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to form a tree model with Agisoft?
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2014, 10:52:54 AM »
Hallo,

do you have some examples of photos you're working with, as well as some result files?

Best regards