Forum

Author Topic: Export Points > Meshlab > Import mesh  (Read 11601 times)

JulienGroenenboom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Export Points > Meshlab > Import mesh
« on: September 10, 2014, 03:38:35 PM »
Hi all,

I have some problems with exporting my points, editing them in Meshlab/CloudCompare and then importing them back into Agisoft PS. I have been looking on the forum and internet but did not found the answer to my problem.

After I aligned my photos and build a dense cloud, I exported points as a .PLY file.
I open the data with Meshlab, make a mesh and save it as a .PLY file.
In PS I can open this file.

But now here is my problem:
When I want to continue the proces, the 'Build texture' goes wrong.

Can somebody please tell me what I am doing wrong.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14110
    • View Profile
Re: Export Points > Meshlab > Import mesh
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2014, 03:40:51 PM »
Hello Julien,

You need to import polygonal mesh model in .ply (or any other format) when using Import Mesh option and not dense point cloud.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

JulienGroenenboom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Export Points > Meshlab > Import mesh
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2014, 04:34:23 PM »
Thank you, Alexey.

But this gives me the following problem:

When I use "Export points", I get more points than when I use "Export model".
I would like to edit and filter my points in other software, so I would like to have a lot of points in my point cloud model. After the editing I import the mesh and continue with texture/DEM in Agisoft PS.

Is it correct that I have to use the "Export model" and not "Export points" to continue in PS after some editing/filtering in for example Meshlab?

Or is there a way to export the points/mesh, then edit the points and then import this back into PS?

Thank you in advance.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14110
    • View Profile
Re: Export Points > Meshlab > Import mesh
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2014, 04:54:48 PM »
Hello Julien,

Currently it is not possible to import point cloud back to PhotoScan, so you can import only mesh model.

Note that points in sparse or dense point cloud are not actually mesh model vertices, so there's nothing strange that numbers of vertices in mesh and points in the cloud are different.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

bigben

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
    • View Profile
Re: Export Points > Meshlab > Import mesh
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2014, 02:15:23 PM »
You don't mention doing a surface reconstruction in Meshlab before importing.  If you do a surface reconstruction you can import that mesh into PS and continue with the texturing step.