Forum

Author Topic: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?  (Read 5916 times)

Sky_hie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« on: September 18, 2014, 01:46:53 PM »
Hi.

I have a aerial datasett with pictures taken from above and from the side of a building, but the buildings are not very good in the model.

Please see attached pics.

How can I make the result better?


SH

eddiethemartian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2014, 04:34:55 PM »
Did you build a "height field" geometry?  You need to use "arbitrary" to get detail on vertical faces like walls. 


wastan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2014, 01:05:00 PM »

I have a aerial datasett with pictures taken from above and from the side of a building, but the buildings are not very good in the model.



___________
Moon Raza

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2014, 01:38:42 PM »
Hi as eddiethemartian say you used HEIGH FIELD recon mode, use AARBITRARY mode, should be much better fot this sort of datas...
----------------
www.mhb.sk

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2014, 01:49:27 PM »
Hello Sky_hie,

You have problem with model surface or texture? Or both?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

tenboair

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2014, 10:21:49 PM »
I'm having an issue with buildings where the point cloud looks good, but then the mesh is missing chunks of the roof. I've run tons of different settings and all the way up to ultra high point cloud. The pictures were taken from 50m with 80/60 overlap. I've run into a similar issue when reconstructing a house model from 200 pictures - it seems to have a really hard time on roofs that overhang. Any suggestions? I've tried height field, arbitrary, every kind of texture, different depth filtering settings...

Sky_hie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2014, 11:49:41 PM »
Hi as eddiethemartian say you used HEIGH FIELD recon mode, use AARBITRARY mode, should be much better fot this sort of datas...

The model is mainly a model of the ground. and is georeferenced. For this it is best solution to use Height Field?? and not Arbitrary..?


Sky_hie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2014, 11:50:27 PM »
Hello Sky_hie,

You have problem with model surface or texture? Or both?

Both..

eddiethemartian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2014, 01:13:45 AM »
Hi as eddiethemartian say you used HEIGH FIELD recon mode, use AARBITRARY mode, should be much better fot this sort of datas...

The model is mainly a model of the ground. and is georeferenced. For this it is best solution to use Height Field?? and not Arbitrary..?
Build the model in "arbitrary" mode, and build the texture using "adaptive orthophoto", and you will get detail on the walls of your building.  "Height field" will not generate that detail.

Sky_hie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Have a aerial dataset. How to make sidewall of buildings better?
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2014, 05:49:53 PM »
Hi as eddiethemartian say you used HEIGH FIELD recon mode, use AARBITRARY mode, should be much better fot this sort of datas...

The model is mainly a model of the ground. and is georeferenced. For this it is best solution to use Height Field?? and not Arbitrary..?
Build the model in "arbitrary" mode, and build the texture using "adaptive orthophoto", and you will get detail on the walls of your building.  "Height field" will not generate that detail.

This seem to work very well. Thanks :)