Forum

Author Topic: Simple studio set up for scanning old tools like hammers and chisels  (Read 5168 times)

lvennard

• View Profile
 Simple studio set up for scanning old tools like hammers and chisels
I tried doing some tests by putting the tool on an evenly lit table and doing a walkaround and it didn't come out very well .. the tools are old and rusty
I'm thinking i should get a turn table and shoot it rotating in a nice white studio cove? somehow mounting it so it stays upright?
 the camera equipment i have... 5D t2I and canon s100

any suggestion?
im new to photoscaning thanks

Kiesel

• View Profile
Re: Simple studio set up for scanning old tools like hammers and chisels
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2014, 03:46:35 PM »
At first, these are objects that should work very well.  :)

Some hints for the beginning:
The object should fill your photo as much as possible.
You haven't to shot the hole object in every photo.
The photo quality should be as high as possible with good lighting. ( remember "trash in - trash out")
Lift your object a little bit above the ground/table so you can separate it later from the ground more easily.
You can put a good textured thing under your object (for example a newspaper or a cork plate) to help the aligning process (later it can be erased or masked out).

You could find further help for example in the just discussed topic
http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=2909.0 there is also a link to a very detailed tutorial, in the manual (I know, how reads manuals?  ;) ), other tutorials or search the forum.

Hope it helps a little bit to start.

Karsten

mjankor@gmail.com

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2014, 03:46:47 PM »
Piece of cake. Grab a cheap continuous lighting rig from ebay, with a light tent. Find a nice turntable, and make 3 spikes, with fine tips. Should be about $120 all up.