Forum

Author Topic: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto  (Read 7941 times)

ahornero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« on: January 28, 2015, 02:11:00 PM »
Hi,

I've noticed some strange behavior when I try to export an orthophoto. For big projects, I get a file size limitation (4GB). It's something like this topic http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=2318.msg12370#msg12370 but we are using NTFS, not FAT32.

Any idea? Thanks,

Alberto.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2015, 02:55:39 PM »
Hello Alberto,

TIF files exported by PhotoScan really have 4 GB limit, so for large areas it is recommended to use split in blocks option.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

andyroo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2015, 10:12:01 PM »
I get good results by using split in blocks option, then building a VRT with GDAL and using the VRT to generate a continuous geotiff (and GDAL supports BIGTIFF for TIFFs over 4GB if you want to go that way).

Here are some batch file snippets using gdal:

REM build virtual raster table
gdalbuildvrt -srcnodata 0 -vrtnodata 0 [VRT_FILENAME].vrt [TILESET_ROOT_NAME]*.tif

REM huge geotiff for GIS
gdal_translate -of Gtiff -co "COMPRESS=JPEG" -co "JPEG_QUALITY=90" -co "TILED=YES" -co "PHOTOMETRIC=YCBCR" -co BLOCKYSIZE=256 -co BLOCKXSIZE=256 -co "TFW=YES" -b 1 -b 2 -b 3 [VRT_FILENAME].vrt [FINAL_GEOTIFF_NAME].tif

REM huge PNG for gigapan
gdal_translate -of png -co "ZLEVEL=1" [VRT_FILENAME].vrt [FINAL_PNG_NAME].png


example gigapans here

ahornero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2015, 02:30:40 PM »
Hi Alexey,

Is Agisoft planning to support BigTiff format? And thanks for your reply and the solution.

Hi andyroo,

Thank you too. Good explanation :-)

Alberto.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2015, 03:14:43 PM »
Hello Alberto,

I think that BigTIFF support could be included in the version 1.2 of PhotoScan.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

ahornero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2015, 05:33:39 PM »
Great! Thanks again Alexey.

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2017, 10:41:51 PM »
unfortunately with 1.31 it seems that Orthofotos with more than 2 GB are also corrupt, even if you select bigTIF format

Notimpressed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2019, 09:16:50 PM »
Not Impressed that Agisoft wont give you a warning before trying to export the Orthophoto when it is too large, and then it instead goes ahead and creates a corrupted file that is an unfinished ortho on the hard drive.  Ive been trying to delete this corrupted file for AN HOUR!

NOT IMPRESSED.

Notimpressed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2019, 10:06:25 PM »
This corrupted file will not delete off my hard drive.

rossnixon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2019, 04:26:22 AM »
Will it delete after you restart the compter?
If not, try one of these: https://www.raymond.cc/blog/lockhunter-is-unlocker-alternative-that-works-on-windows-x64/

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13913
    • View Profile
Re: 4GB Max file size when exporting orthophoto
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2019, 12:36:06 PM »
Hello Notimpressed,

Sorry to hear that. Do you have by any chance the log related to the problematic export operation?

If not, please specify at least the export settings used (screenshot of the export dialog will be sufficient), file type used. Additionally please specify, if you are exporting the orthomosaic to the local drive, external or network drive? And what is the OS used and disk partition/file system on the target drive?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC