Forum

Author Topic: "Can't build dense point cloud" please help...!  (Read 6541 times)

emildude92

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
"Can't build dense point cloud" please help...!
« on: March 21, 2015, 09:13:44 PM »
I am having a problem with the latest build of Photoscan, which is that when I try to build a dense point cloud out of my aligned JPEGs, I get the error message "Can't build dense point cloud". I am aware of earlier posts that claim that the problem is usually either 1) not enough matching pairs inside bounding box, 2) problems in camera calibration, or 3) too many points located far outside the bounding box...but I have fixed all of these problems, and I still get the same message, even when I go back to other models that I have made recently and try to re-build the dense point cloud on them.

I am wondering if it could be a problem with my RAM, or some external problem with my computer? The model I'm trying to make is a statue in a museum, and all the images are high quality JPEGs taken with a Fujifilm X-pro-1 with an 18mm, and the software registers this. I made sure that the OpenCL device is configured, and I have allocated some memory for GPU.

What could be the problem?

emildude92

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: "Can't build dense point cloud" please help...!
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2015, 09:18:30 PM »
Here is the report from the console:
stereo.cpp line 206: error CL_BUILD_PROGRAM_FAILURE
Finished processing in 0.002242 sec (exit code 0)
Using device: ATI Radeon HD 6770M, 6 compute units, 512 MB global memory
  max work group size 256
  max work item sizes [256, 256, 256]
  max mem alloc size 128 MB
Device 1
Error returned by cvms_element_build_from_source

stereo.cpp line 206: error CL_BUILD_PROGRAM_FAILURE
Finished processing in 0.002259 sec (exit code 0)

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13908
    • View Profile
Re: "Can't build dense point cloud" please help...!
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2015, 11:12:40 PM »
Hello emildude92,

I can suggest to update graphic card drivers, or disable the device completely in OpenCL preferences tab.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

einatlev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: "Can't build dense point cloud" please help...!
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2015, 05:51:51 AM »
A solution I saw on another post and worked for me --
go to Photoscan-->Preferences-->OpenCL, and uncheck the "Intel Iris" option if it's there.

emildude92

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: "Can't build dense point cloud" please help...!
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2015, 08:15:28 PM »
Thanks Alexey! This worked, and now everything seems to be working fine. Iæm currently updating the driver to my graphics card as well  :)