Forum

Author Topic: Best Macbook Pro for Metashape/photogrammetry?  (Read 4750 times)

mattt

• View Profile
Best Macbook Pro for Metashape/photogrammetry?
« on: June 29, 2020, 05:37:02 AM »
Hi all

I'm new to Metashape and photogrammetry and hoping to get some quick advice.

I design and create canvas bags and looking to use photogammetry to capture these and create 3D models for use on my website for AR etc.

As my current laptop is a low spec 11" Macbook Air I'm aware I will probably need a new laptop to be able to process the phots etc (and for my general sanity as will also be using Fusion 360 etc).

I'm looking at both a high spec 13" Macbook Pro and the mid spec 16" Macbook Pro (for the dedicated graphics card) and would love any suggestions or insights into which would be appropriate.

I prefer the physical size of the 13", but if the dedicated graphics card of the 16" will be substantially faster I could be convinced to get this ...

For both I was looking at 16gb RAM and a 1 TB hdd.

The other option I've seen mentioned is an external graphics card, would it be better to get the say the 13" Macbook Pro and then augment this with an eGPU?

I also won't be using photogrammetry day in day out (well to begin with anyhow), so if it was just to take an hour or so to process with.a slower laptop that wouldn't be the end of the world.

Thanks so much

Matt

SAV

• View Profile
Re: Best Macbook Pro for Metashape/photogrammetry?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2020, 10:45:41 AM »
Hi Matt,

Get the 16 inch Macbook Pro. The dedicated graphics card will make a big difference when it comes to processing, which is why I suggest to upgrade it to the 8GB version (standard is 4GB). Another advantage of the 16 inch Macbook Pro is that it comes with a 6 core CPU (or you can even upgrade to 8 cores) whereas the 13 inch Macbook Pro only has a max of 4 cores.